Verizon/tethering/fcc

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Picasso71, Sep 22, 2012.

  1. Picasso71

    Picasso71 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so we have a locally owned VZW here where I care to take my business, and as such have become a fairly good terms with one of the sales reps there. I was down there helping get my brother a new phone since he is on my plan. The aforementioned sales rep let me know quietly as possible that the FCC has forced Verizon to allow users to set up hotspots/tethering without paying for it using other apps and also not penalizing the user I'd they do. I have the unlimited plan. I asked then if VZW can no longer take that away f or tethering, and he said no. can anyone confirm this?
     
  2. Camoxjeep

    Camoxjeep Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that is correct. Verizon cannot tell you that you can't use a third party tether app, but they can still throttle your speeds.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
     
  3. Camoxjeep

    Camoxjeep Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ps, it's not a secret either so your source doesn't have to whisper it (only while he's at work lol)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,602
    Likes Received:
    1,327
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,418
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Vzw can't throttle 4g however.. it was in the agreement for them to get the lte spectrum. :D
     
  5. Picasso71

    Picasso71 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess to make my question more accurate, I was made to understand that I can make my phone a mobile hotspot without the fee
     
  6. menudo18

    menudo18 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just set mine up today with no problems and it's free. PDA NET3.5 in the android market.
     
  7. CaptianSpiffy

    CaptianSpiffy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure? I thought I read on a different thread that the CFO/CEO/UFO (somebody at the top of the Verizon food chain) was working to rid themselves of the scourge that is known as "the unlimited" by throttling. I believe he said,"unlimited is just a word".

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,602
    Likes Received:
    1,327
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,418
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I haven't read that thread... but I know it was a condition for them to get the lte spectrum... who knows... legal fight though..
     
  9. mysticalmalissa

    mysticalmalissa Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Top of the Rock, TN (Sequatchie)
    Ratings:
    +26
    Yes you can.
    My two favorite apps are, PdaNet, which I have been using for two years and FoxFi.
     
  10. menudo18

    menudo18 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. menudo18

    menudo18 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. mountainbikermark

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,750
    Likes Received:
    802
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +826
  13. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +86
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    That would be nice. Right now I'm using pdanet with the "hiding tether" feature.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
     
  14. Picasso71

    Picasso71 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I couldn't get pdanet to work. I tried svtlite to see how that works and it did. but, I was hoping to find something cheaper than $15. I also noticed with svtlite I did a speednet test it I seemed to have about half the speed. was this the whole bandwidth throttling some have mentioned?
     
  15. N4UPD

    N4UPD Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm using easytether on my Rezound but I have to use usb tether because it don't have wifi tether on the app.