unusable phone?

Janet1025

Reaction score
here's my tips (i do not have a pro, but i've been using android for the past 13 months):

1. Go to settings/wireless & networks/mobile networks/enable always-on data. Uncheck always on data. Your phone will still receive email, text, & phone calls as before as well as internet usage but your battery will last a lot longer.

2. Emails: I don't know what email app he uses, but have him try this. It saves battery power and in some cases gets his emails to him quicker. This scheme will have him using only the gmail app on the phone for all his email accounts whether they are pop3 accounts or gmail. Go to the google gmail inbox on his computer and log into his gmail account. On the top right of the screen is an options called settings. In there is an option to have the gmail program poll his regular, non-gmail accounts. He provides the email address and the password. The google gmail program will then poll his other accounts on a frequency from 1-5 minutes and push the email immediately to his phone. The polling frequency is determined by each account's activity - more emails = faster polling. It will always be at least every five minutes. This saves battery power because on the android os with pop3 accounts they are polled at a frequency of 1-30 minutes and that really eats battery. Because the phone goes and checks those accounts for mail whether there is mail there or not.

3. If you are using live wall papers, stop!

4. Use wifi any time it is available. It uses a lot less power than 3g and it is much faster.

5. If there are widgets on any of the screens that automatically update (facebook, weather, etc.) change their update frequency in their settings menu. Set them to 30mins or 1 hour.

6. Oh, almost forgot, get the extended battery from verizon.

7. Turn off the gps unless you are actually using it. There are some background apps that can burn a lot of power via a live gps.