trying to unroot & go back to stock...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by monkeyboy383, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I've been doing the whole rooted thing... its been fun. But I've had an issue with my camera and gallery for a while, and its finally annoyed me enough to get drastic. I'm either going to go completely out the box stock and it fixes my camera issue & I re-root, or I get back to OTB stock & my cameras still screwy and I do a warranty replacement. Either way I'm having issues finding a bone stock update.zip (preferably 2.1 if I can do that). I'm thinking if I can find that, un root with easy root, then use recovery to install the stock update. Am I all wrong with this? I don't have a computer, so I've gotta do it all on the droid in question. Rom manager wouldn't do it either, it gave me errors when it tried to install any of the provided stock roms. Sry if this is in the wrong place, I'm too frustrated to think clearly right now
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    You can use DMUpdater to go to bone stock 2.2
  3. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, got dmupdater 12. On start it says it needs to update recovery image. Click I understand, then it asks if I'm really really sure, it'll probly break recovery mode... should I continue?
  4. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Yes.....that's just a thing they put in there to cover their butts. I've used it a few times.
  5. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thought so, just recovery mode is all I got if anything goes wrong.... here we go...
  6. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mtd read error @ 0x########### repeated a lot... tried it twice, what now?
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    When you go stock with dmupdater it will put the stocl recovery on as well. Just an fyi.
  8. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Can always follow first link in my sig.
  9. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, I won't delete it this time. But what can I do about this error? It won't let me do anything with the app but back out and fail again
  10. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Not sure.......did you use rom manager and clockwork recovery before?
  11. importune
    Offline

    importune Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use rom manager.. free version will let you download stock roms. Install rom manager, in rm flash to clockwork recovery, in rm go download rom, stock roms, pick one, wait for it to download, rm will ask you if it can reboot and flash, click yes, wait, phone is formated and back to stock.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  12. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I already tried the rom manager method you just described. I tried both the stock roms in the free version. They gave me errors once installing in clockwork recovery. And yea, I've been using rom manager and clockwork since I rooted a month or so ago.
  13. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    O, and idk if it matters, but I'm running SS 4.7
  14. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    If neither ways are working your best bet is a .sbf flash.
  15. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sbf flash as in using a computer? I'm reading your sig guide and I hope I'm missunderstanding
  16. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Yes you will need a computer......why you hoping not?
  17. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't have one, don't have one I could use for 30 mins. If there's no goin back w/o a comp I might just have to give assurion a call
  18. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Can you still flash to any other ROM? Tried an old nandroid maybe then use one of the stock updates?
  19. monkeyboy383
    Offline

    monkeyboy383 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have any backups, when I tried to install the rom manager 2.1 I selected clear data and cache... I've never had a problem installing a rom till then either... so I made the stupid mistake of trying wiping my sd card too. I have a question tho... I have a spare sd that's formatted for this phone, would that have anything that can do me any good? Keep in mind, this card was in use before I rooted and backed up anything.
  20. bnpdp
    Offline

    bnpdp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

motorola atrix unroot