Touchscreen problem . Hardware or software?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by action24, Sep 27, 2010.

  1. action24

    action24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whennever i try to hit my apps icon on the front touch screen it selects the browser icon immediately to the right of it . this is on the main menu . its like theres a dead spot or something . I did drop my phone once today but it worked fine for at least 4 hours after that . the only other thing i can remember that happened right before it started acting up was that it found 4 updates and when i slide the notification bar down there were 2 updates for a connect 4 app i had , and i dont know what the other 2 updates were . it seemed like after that is when things started getting screwy ! Any help would be appreciated greatly . And if i can't figure it out I will be eating 70$ as this is a buy second hand off of a buddy . The phone was great till today .
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did you install both of the updates for connect 4?
     
  3. action24

    action24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes . thought nothing of it .
     
  4. Jejackson

    Jejackson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    does it happen all the time, or just sometimes after heavy use?
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Not sure this will help but uninstall and see if the issue clears.
     
  6. action24

    action24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried everything even factory resest .
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    well it seems to me that the issue is hardware which may have resulted from dropping. Perhaps a visit to the local VZW store is a good next step. Hope they are able to resolve for you.
     
  8. action24

    action24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    k thanks , actually verizon was unable to help so i called motorola and i am sending it in for repair . thanks for all the help !
     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That is better yet. I hope they are able to get it back to you quickly.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global touch screen dead spots

,
droid 2 touch screen dead spots
,
is touchscreen issue hardware or software
,
touch screen dead spots hardware or software