1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

theming question

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by skltr21, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. skltr21
    Offline

    skltr21 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what do i need to change in the framework in order to make when i hit the menu button, the menu comes up black instead of white? im getting a white background with white text. i want to change the background to be black but i don't know what in the framework to change? thanks.
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gonna follow along because I'm learning to theme too. That ok?

    DroidForums junkie!!
  3. skltr21
    Offline

    skltr21 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    of course =) i hope someone answers........
  4. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If not, I know a few members to send the url to! Doubt it'll be tonight though.

    DroidForums junkie!!
  5. jatx2wne
    Offline

    jatx2wne Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Cuse
    Menu_background_fill_parent_width.9.png the other one is menu_background.9.png
  6. bp328i
    Offline

    bp328i Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Just what jatx2wne said...I have attached the png's you need.

    The first one is menu_background.9.png

    The second one is menu_background_fill_parent_width.9.png

    Attached Files:

  7. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali
  8. ballmore
    Offline

    ballmore New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trap Hill, North Carolina
    I'm following along too. Seems like my ventures into making icons and wallpapers is a flop. I'm gonna start devotiing all of that time into learning how to make themes. :icon_eek:
  9. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,221
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
  10. skltr21
    Offline

    skltr21 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i replaced what i had with these last night and it wasn't changing.... that's why i posted this question. but i somehow got it working this morning. thanks!
  11. skltr21
    Offline

    skltr21 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now for my next question. how to i change the notification bar and pulldown screen and all that stuff??? where is that stuff located???
  12. bp328i
    Offline

    bp328i Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    Framework\res\drawable-hdpi

    It's the ones named status_bar_item....
  13. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali

    bp328i - I have a question. I noticed you changed the activity bar in your theme, which is very nice. I'm working on a theme of my own, and would like to change the color. Which xml do i have to look for?
  14. skltr21
    Offline

    skltr21 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ugh..... theming is so frustrating! im applying the changes to things but nothing is changing!
  15. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali
    LoL... Welcome to theming. I've been thru that many times. What are you trying to change?
  16. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,221
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    I've changed to pop up menu to black. I cant find where to change the text to a lighter color. Could someone point me to it. Here's a picture of what I'm talking about.

    Attached Files:

  17. jatx2wne
    Offline

    jatx2wne Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the Cuse
    Its in styles.xml in framework/values If you go to team inversion conversion section in themeing there is a tutorial on changing system text
  18. Adrioid
    Offline

    Adrioid Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cali

    Are you following the guide I posted from thebowers? It's on post#7

    Here's part of it... If I'm not mistaken this should be what you are asking for.

    [FONT=&quot]Next is the menu text (when you hit he soft key for menu)[/FONT][FONT=&quot]


    Do ctrl + f and put in TextAppearance.Widget.IconMenu.Item and click find next.
    You should now be at this area[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]Code:[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot] <style name="TextAppearance.Widget.IconMenu.Item" parent="@style/TextAppearance.Small">[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot] <item name="textColor">?textColorPrimary</item>[/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot] </style>[/FONT]

    [FONT=&quot]Change textColorPrimaryInverse (black) to textColorPrimary (white and then black when pressed)
    Also you could delete the whole ?textColorPrimary and just put #ffff00ae as an example for the color code you desire.[/FONT]
  19. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,221
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Thanks jatx2wne and Adrioid. This theming stuff is very addictive.
  20. T-N-T
    Offline

    T-N-T New Member Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My hardest part id finding icons to use for stuff

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

menu background fill parent width.9.png

,
menu background.9