The TRUTH about Bloatware and it's importance....no more misconceptions

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by nerdslogic, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just wanted to share this with you all as I am confused here. I was always under the impression that the Bloatware that is pre-installed on our devices was required to receive OTA updates and all....but something happened the other day that shook all of that up.

    My wife's D1 was lost\stolen. I had to use my Assuriance Insurance to get her a replacement....this is all BEFORE I found out about Plan B....anyway...when her new D1 arrived it had NONE of the bloatware that it used to have. I called and asked if this was going to affect anything and they said that it would not.

    So now I have to ask....is it important or no? I am thinking no due to this experience. I am wondering if there is some kind of code or something that is used to bypass the reliance on the bloatware for OTA updates.
     
  2. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    In my experience, the lack of bloatware is a problem for updates. I'm not sure why, but that's my limited experience.
     
  3. michael29626

    michael29626 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't. See why u would need bloatware (unwanted apps) to get updates. All updates aren't good, sometimes they may fix one thing and compromise usablility. One should be able to choose what apps are or aren't installed. Which may improve or take away from performance.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    23,678
    Likes Received:
    4,839
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,398
    During the last ota people who removed bloatware was having problems with getting it. I could not get it because I deleted blockbuster.
     
  5. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    The OP's wife has a D1? They never required bloat for proper OTAs like D2/X. It also had a lot less. I think this might be in the wrong section.
     
  6. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The droid 1 didn't really have bloatware. Remove some bloat from the later moto phones can brick the phone if you do a factory reset or update the os.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Interesting. I didn't think about the D1 discussion before posting in this forum. But is it safe to say that as new models come out the amount of bloatware will be increased?
     
  8. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should be the same.
    Edit*oh you mean new phones. I dunno
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    The Droid 1 doesn't have problems accepting updates without the bloat installed -- with the exception of Goggles, and even then it's rare.
     
  10. Batfan.com

    Batfan.com Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I'm not sure what your talking about. I had a D1 and even though I have a D2G now, I still keep my D1 updated.

    The D1 is known for being pretty much the most stock Google experience, on Vzw. It did not have MotoBlur loaded and had no bloatware on it.


    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  11. dfuser312553

    dfuser312553 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    It had a little bloat like Amazon mp3 & a few others but not a lot. It's been along time since I was stock.
     
Search tags for this page
best smartphone without bloatware
,
best smartphone without to much bloatware
,
importance of bloatware
,
smartphone bloat
,

smartphone without bloatware

,
smartphones without bloatware