Tethering with GB

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by droidrunnr, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the best app for tethering in GB 605?

    I have tried Barnacle but I can't seem to get the laptop and phone to connect. Gets stuck in "attempting to connect"

    Open Garden sends me to the VZ webpage.

    any ideas on how to connect?
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2011
  2. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
  3. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had read that VZ may be able to monitor tethering with Gingerbread. Does this circumvent their ability to do this? Or is the only way to go back to Froyo?
     
  4. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    You take your chances with tethering. Best bet is not to do it, but if you must then know that VZW can do whatever they want to you if you're caught.
     
  5. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What if I go back to Froyo? Is that safer?
     
  6. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    TBH it doesn't matter, VZW isn't really cracking down on occasional users. Seems like only large data users are getting throttled.
     
  7. PS3Gamer

    PS3Gamer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thing is, they're looking for streaming data connection that probably triggers an alert that somebody may be using a wireless tether when they pass a certain bandwidth or size of data.. They cannot really figure out what you are doing. To think, people have gotten charged for this sort of thing!
     
  8. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So they can't determine what is being run just volume of data used that is good. I figured they had implanted a way to remotely view phone. Any backup programs or other appear that are essential?
    ?!
     
  9. mwshows

    mwshows New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using the wifi tether patch/hack with WiFi Tether and it works great with little problem.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  10. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright I see the app, as posted by lefspin, but its not in the market. What is the best way to get it on the droid X? Will I need any special Kernals etc? I have also read people having issues. Is it just a matte of clearing cash so the VZ pay page doesn't show up?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  11. leftspin

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just download the apk and install it on your phone

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  12. droidrunnr

    droidrunnr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright I have downloaded and connected, but I get the VZN Hotspot screen. How do I clear so I can start using?
     
  13. MYTHUMBS

    MYTHUMBS New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a DROID X and before I did an update...yes by accident I used the tether mode. Not much, mainly for my kids to watch youtube while we were driving around I have iPad 1. Now I have rooted phone on GB and the wiring tether u get from Google-code is not working. I tried barnacle also. I keep getting the vz connection page. anyone know a way around this? I am even willing to go back to froyo if I have to. Im about to go on a road trip driving from Texas to Chicago and I do not want to listen to ky kids the whole way. Lol.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  14. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Flash this using bootstrap:

    http://db.tt/dRA4pnrD

    Boot Manager
     
  15. MYTHUMBS

    MYTHUMBS New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything works amazing! Back in business. Thanks

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

gb wifi tether

,

is tehering using my gb