stuck in clockwork recovery when I reboot

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by polenz, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. polenz
    Offline

    polenz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did an sbf last night with the 30.04 bootloader files and everytime I try to pull the battery I get looped into clockwork recovery and it will not allow me to restore any of my backups from there. If I do a factory reset I can restart but I'd rather not have to reinstall all of my apps and everything when I pull the battery or reboot the phone. Should i just not install clockwork recovery? I am rooted as well.

    What is the quickest way to have the phone back to where I was other than reinstalling the backups from clockwork mod recovery.
     
  2. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am very confused by your question.

    Was your bootloader 30.04 before the sbf flash? Or did you use it too update your bootloader.

    And what do you mean by recovering your apps from Clockwork?

    If you had a nandroid backup of a 30.03 bootloader and then sbf'd and changed the bootloader to 30.04, your

    nandroid will no longer be any good.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010
  3. polenz
    Offline

    polenz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    screen says clockwork recovery v2.5.0.6

    did a cache and data wipe and tried to restore a backup.
     
  4. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you attempted to wipe your phone and restore a nandroid backup?

    Now you can't find the update.zip/nandroid?

    Because restoring a nandroid backup is not an sbf. Sorry, just trying to understand.
     
  5. polenz
    Offline

    polenz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phone was a replacement running 30.04 bootloader. I sbf'd the proper file I believe a team black hat download. If I install koush's bootstrap, run that, and then boot into recovery and do a restore it goes to the m logo then sits for a minute and then kicks me back to the clockwork mod screen and I have to do a factory wipe to reboot the device back into the regular operating system.
     
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    When did you make the nandroid and was it before the .340 update?

    tappin and a talkin
     
  7. polenz
    Offline

    polenz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    After the update, last backup was done on 12-29. Sorry I'm trying to use the lingo to describe my problem and probably failing miserably.

    When I want to restore a backup, from clockwork recovery I click on "backup and restore" then click on the date of the restore I want to run and click it again. It runs, says it's complete and then I click reboot, which kicks me to the m logo and the screen goes black and boots back into clockwork recovery. I have to do a factory reset to actually get the phone to boot all the way back up.

    Should I just not install the bootstrap app? If I don't do that what is the best way to back up the device. I do have titanium as well.
     
  8. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh oh oh, gotcha!

    Ok. First, you haven't made a recovery for it to recover. Unless you had a prior nandroid backup made.

    When you first got the Bootstrap app, you opened it, hit the top button, hit yes after it

    said "success?" Then you hit the second button and it boots into recovery. You have to make a backup there.

    If you did make a backup before the flashing of the sbf you should have moved it to the root

    of your SD card so you can find it. If you didn't, I don't know how to find it.

    But Bootstrap does not automatically make a backup of all your apps so you can recover them.

    Does this make sense?
     
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well you need bootstrap to access clockworkmod to make and restore backups. So if you just hit reboot now after restoring the backup it goes back to a bootloop?

    tappin and a talkin
     
  10. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    To me or him? :)

    I'm confused. I thought he was saying he flashed the sbf, got the Bootstrap app, booted int CW

    and tried to restore without having a prior backup. That's what I'm try'n to figure out.
     
  11. polenz
    Offline

    polenz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So what you're really trying to say is.....lol.....

    Thank you so much. What I'm translating that means in my language:

    any backup I made prior to sbfing my phone is no longer a valid backup and that is why the phone keeps kicking back into clockwork recovery?

    So if I reinstall the bootstrapper app and then boot into recovery and do a backup I should be able to go back into the phone normally?
     
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was to him. My understanding is he had a backup of the new update, sbfd and is now trying to restore that backup

    tappin and a talkin
     
  13. polenz
    Offline

    polenz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have four backups on the phone that I'm able to click as well. But they were all saved prior to sbfing the device.
     
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok lets pause for a second and figure out what your intentions are. Are you trying to restore a backup of your current system version from before you sbfd? Or are you trying to get to full stock

    tappin and a talkin
     
  15. chkmate
    Offline

    chkmate Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Round Rock, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually....no, no one is laughing at you. And I understand you were trying to explain and couldn't

    at first. But if you were already on a 30.04 version bootloader when you made the backup, that backup

    should work now. As far as apps go, unless they were 3rd party, should automatically restore through

    Market.
     
Search tags for this page
clock work mod froze on reboot system
,
clockwork mod stuck on hat screen
,
clockwork mod stuck on recovery screen
,
clockworkmod recovery only hat symbol
,
droid x recovery mode 2.5.0.6 cant locate roms and stuck on
,
galaxy s3 clockworkmod recovery 6 hat orange
,
hat with restart android
,
s4 stuck recovery booting clockwork
,

stuck clockwork hat

,
why my stay on logo screen when i try to reboot into recover