So how do you get the browser to stop refreshing?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by s-one, May 16, 2010.

  1. s-one

    s-one Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so it isn't only me... I'll look into the other browser. Thanks.
     
  2. JoeKacz

    JoeKacz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happens to me all the time and bugs the heck out of me. Glad to see I'm not alone.
     
  3. baniels

    baniels Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    52556
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had this issue for some time. On stock 2.01 and even on some 2.01 modded Roms I didn't have the issue. I can't remember when, exactly, but this started a while back - before the official 2.1 release.

    When I notice it most is when I have multiple "windows" open in my browser and wait some time before viewing them.
     
  4. Xaneth

    Xaneth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was having the same prob, so I used Titanium Backup to freeze one program at a time. In my case it was the app Audio Manager doing it.
     
  5. Xaneth

    Xaneth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wait, I take it back, arrrgh...
     
  6. qwerta369

    qwerta369 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly the same thing happening to me and it's driving me mad! I'm using an LG GT540 with android 1.6 and Dolphin. I use Task Manager but Dolphin is ignored.

    Interestingly, if I terminate Task Manager the auto refreshing appears to stop.

    So what is Task Manager "killing" that causes Dolphin to refresh when I switch back to it from another app or from the home screen? Or am I barking up the wrong tree?
     
  7. lyam

    lyam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happens to me all the time (Droid 1 2.2). A few months ago I spent some time looking into it and it is said to be related to how the phone manages memory. I don't understand why a refresh would be necessary, though. It may be possible to tweak a rooted phone using autokiller (not a task killer! a mem. mgt. tweaker) adjusted to conservative settings. I haven't tested this out, though (I like aggressive memory mgt. Improves the snappiness).

    Also, another thing that really bugs me about the browser is how a refresh (or backing up a page) loses your place on the page. This combined with the occasional refresh issue above is a real hassle. Especially using google reader.
     
  8. mjkmail

    mjkmail New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this to stop refreshing apps.

    Try this:
    1. Go into 'Settings'
    2. Then into 'Developer options'
    3. Then scroll to the last three under 'APPS' and make sure 'Don't keep activities' is unchecked.
     
Search tags for this page

android browser auto refresh

,
android browser disable auto refresh
,
android browser stop auto refresh
,
disable auto refresh android browser
,
dolphin auto refresh
,
how to stop android browser from reloading
,
how to stop browser from refreshing
,
stop android browser from refreshing
,

stop android browser refreshing

,
stop auto refresh android