Smart Actions

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by rherron, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. rn_jacki

    rn_jacki New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    anybody know how to set it to silence the email/facebook, etc notifications, but NOT the phone? I need to be able to receive calls at night, but really don't care about my emails ;) Thanks.
     
  2. blueydgurl85

    blueydgurl85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Smart Actions not working

    I have been trying to set up smart actions for a few days now on my Droid 4. The only trigger I am using is location - it should only activate when I am home. I noticed that it activated right away after I first created the smart action, however when I left home and came back, the smart action did not reactivate. I then rebooted my phone and the smart action started right up. Is anyone else having a similar issue or know how to fix this?
     
  3. kwyrt

    kwyrt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ratings:
    +4
    I had the same problem setting up and action based on my home location. I wanted wifi to turn on when I got home. The smart action turned on right away but when I came home from work the next day it did not work. I seem to remember when setting it up that it said something about wifi having to be on for the location action to work which makes no sense to me.
     
  4. sangelopez

    sangelopez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way for not turning on wi-fi when the trigger is "location"?
     
  5. Noodle360

    Noodle360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol depending on the trigger, something has to be on for it to work. If your using a GPS trigger your GPS has to be on so it knows when your home, if your using a Wifi trigger your wifi has to be on so it knows when your home. The time frame will work because your clock is always on, and such like that. Not sure if that clears anything up, but I remember reading a few people that were having issues with there Wifi turning on using a GPS trigger, but they turned there GPS off to save battery... Hows the phone supposed to know where its at, if the GPS is off?

    I havnt played around with smart actions enough yet but with Tasker (Which Im havin issues with) you can set the GPS to get location at time intervals, so every say 10 minuets it clicks on, gets a location, then off. better then having GPS on 100% of the time...
     
  6. sangelopez

    sangelopez Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I turned on gps and inserted the location trigger but it says that its required to turn on wifi.
     
  7. kwyrt

    kwyrt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Ratings:
    +4
    Same here. GPS is on. Still won't trigger wifi to turn on based on location. Because wifi has to be on for location settings to work? Makes no sense at all.
     
  8. Noodle360

    Noodle360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm yea I couldn't get it to work either with gps. I did get a wifi trigger to work nicly... I for one would rather leave wifi on all the time then gps. Make sure your enabling the google location thing also in the settings menu.
     
  9. blueydgurl85

    blueydgurl85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did also try this same smart action using time as the trigger and it did the same thing. I set up the trigger to be between a certain time frame. It activated right away after I created the smart action (because it was during that time frame), however the next day when it should have activated in that time frame it did not. I rebooted my phone and it worked...
     
  10. weatherlover1

    weatherlover1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    U.P Mi
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Is there a thread dedicated to just this? I did some searching but did not find a lot. I have started to play around with it but I have some questions. I like the Wifi on cell data off task I can create but what I am trying to figure out is when that goes off does data come back on? If not is there away to tell it to do that and if so how because I can't figure it out. :p Go easy on me I am just learning this beast!:p
     
  11. weatherlover1

    weatherlover1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    U.P Mi
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    What I really want to create is when I leave my home wifi I want cell data and GPS to come on and then when I come home when wifi (only at home) comes back on cell data and GPS goes off. Is that to complicated?
     
  12. DocsDad

    DocsDad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, I have this set up on mine. That is, if I am understanding you.

    Starting from scratch

    -Set your Rule as Home'
    -Set your trigger as your home wifi
    -Set you actions as GPS off and Cell Data off

    When your wifi triggers, they shut off. When you leave home, the rule goes away and the Razr reverts to default of everything on.