See MPH in Google Nav?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by marlon3, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. marlon3
    Offline

    marlon3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it possible to display your MPH while using the Nav? I wanna check on how accurate my speedo is on my Motorcycle and my bicyles.
     
  2. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    not to my knowledge. I wish it showed mph too,
     
  3. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe a future update will add this.
     
  4. KZIWarrior
    Offline

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    You should NOT be wearing a 'speedo' on a bike :rofl3:

    Don't any of the suburbs around Seattle or any of the highways have those radar-speed displays (the one's that show you your speed in a rather useless effort to get you to slow down)?

    Though I do miss the TomTom's speed 'warning' feature (i.e. if you entered a part of a highway that had a lower speed w/o realizing it the program would alert you with a loud tone.
     
  5. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1 on needing this as a feature.
     
  6. souljerr
    Offline

    souljerr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sacramento Valley, CA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If they added this feature it would also give an accurate arrival to destination time.
     
  7. jasonb
    Offline

    jasonb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    tru dat....
     
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    My car has this thing already built into it called a speedometer. Works amazingly well. :)
     
  9. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    The OP's vehicles do as well but you can't calibrate a device to itself. :)
     
  10. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Don't look at it too long kid, you'll blow 2 tires that way...
     
  11. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are plenty of apps in the market that show you MPH, but you obviously can't have both Navigation and the app showing at the same time.
     
  12. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my tracks works good for this...
     
  13. tommy
    Offline

    tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also wish it would show MPH. I miss that from my TomTom.

    Another TomTom feature that I miss in Google Maps is toll road avoidance. That's huge.
     
  14. actrack03
    Offline

    actrack03 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manchester, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish it had it too. Not necessary but cool to have especially since speedometers can become inacurate over time.
     
  15. mark1wat
    Offline

    mark1wat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wichita, Ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a few things I miss that I use regularly on my Garmin.

    1. ETA - I hate the minutes to arrival
    2. MPH
    3. Being able to mark a point "anywhere"
    4. Distance to destination

    My GPS units have a "Data Screen" with a lot of cool info on time, distances, speed, etc. This would be a nice addition

    There are a few more that I can't think of right now. They tend to come up when I am using it and I try to do something that I am used to doing on the Garmin.

    I chalked it up to it being an app on a phone and not a standalone GPS. It has all the basic features and seems to work pretty well. However, if more options could be added, I would not complain.

     
Search tags for this page
check miles per hour
,
check my mph
,

google maps mph

,

google navigation mph

,
google navigation show mph
,
mph google maps
,
mph google navigation
,
mph in google maps
,
navigation mph
,
show mph on google navigation