SD card

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by fasilva21, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. BGKris

    BGKris Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County,CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm currently using Kaos V38 and moved a few apps to my SD card, if I re-flash my rom, do I just reinstall the apps from the SD card?
     
  2. Bob Dammit

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    Ratings:
    +17
    IIRC, the apps will be there as long as you are using the same type of ROM, ie: FroYo to FroYo or A2SD to A2SD.
     
  3. rigbyrobot

    rigbyrobot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    with kaos froyo v38 you must use cfs v6 to use app2sd, in cfs v8 the uids were compiled separately and must be started at boot with a script, for further info you can read conaps cfs and bfs thread on xda, v9 of cfs has been released but I personally haven't tested it, going to wait and see what v39 supports now that punk.kaos is active again. also in the eris dev thread there's a post by ds on how to move some apps and updates to apps from data/app to system/app that takes advantage of free space being wasted there, I don't suggest this unless your more of an advanced user because it can be tricky updating your apps after doing this

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
     
  4. BGKris

    BGKris Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orange County,CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    cool. Thanks!
     
  5. rungesco

    rungesco New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone keeps freezing when i have my SD card in. is there a way to wipe the SD card to see if that fixes the problem?
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I did that. I put the card in a usb card reader and reformatted it (after making a full backup on the pc) and then put everything back on the SDcard. The only thing I remember that could be a stumbling block was a warning to not assign a "name" to the sdcard during the formatting process.

    Good luck.
     
  7. jaw4bama

    jaw4bama Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you do not want to keep anything on the SD card, you can format it while it is still in the phone. Settings->SD Card & phone storage->then you will have to unmount the SD card and then Format the SD card. After this just click mount SD card to get the phone to see the SD card again.
     
  8. roxybuddy

    roxybuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using an HTC Incredible since September 2010. Looked at my phone yesterday morning and my phone says "sd card unexpectedly removed" even though its still in. I tried to get the files off the SD card with my laptop but was unable to (but I may not be doing the right thing). Need help! Thanks to whoever can help me.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  9. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,344
    Likes Received:
    275
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +275
    If you can to a minisd to sdcard converter and connect it directly into a media card reader, you may be able to get some data off of it. Sounds like your phone took a dislike to it. Could be a bad port in the phone if its not mounting to your computer through the phone either.
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,081
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Your card might have fried. It happens. What Guidot suggested is good, but I'd suggest you also try it in another phone if you have one.

    Try reseating the card, hitting the contacts GENTLY with a toothbrush, and if you still can't get it to read I'm afraid you've lost your data on the card.
     
  11. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    you can also dl that sdrescan app that supposedly repairs SD Cards....it worked once for me out of 5 SD Cards that I tried to repair.
     
  12. Dolfns99

    Dolfns99 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was just curious on how to delete all files off sd card and start from scratch.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

android phone how set up use of sd card

,

no sd card in htc eris

,

what kind of app can i get to move pics to my sd card on my

,

what kind of sd card in htc eris