Screen & Camera reviews only

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by wardo, Nov 3, 2014.

  1. wardo

    wardo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Let's hear how this thing sacks up against the other phones you have had.

    I'm sure we have all read the turbo has poor nits (whatever that is) numbers.
    I read somewhere there was an update and it dramatically helped screen brightness.

    Camera, no ois
    Is it that big of a deal? I only have experience with the Samsung note 2 and s4, they have a lot of room for improvement.
     
  2. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Well just learned my first camera lesson the hard way. Drove an hour round trip to take four(4) photos for business. Emailed them like I always do and then erased them. Get an email back "File size exceeds maximum allowed by the company email" that never happened on my MaxxHD so now I have to do the drive again, that was expensive.
    Anyway to dumb down the pics so the file size is smaller? Either that or I experiment with how many (below 4) will work. Doh and not delete them until later.
     
  3. wardo

    wardo Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    O wow that sounds like a pain in the ass.
    How was the performance of the camera? Likes dislikes
     
  4. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Simply take them at a lower resolution...go into your camera settings and change it to 4 or 6 MB, it shouldn't affect the overall quality that much in a 4x6 photo, unless they intend to blow them up before printing them.

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Great pics, very detailed and acute. Camera is quick to focus and shoot compared to my MaxxHD and honestly compared to iPhones. I was at a wedding this past weekend and was taking shots of people with their cameras, Holy Crap some phones are s l o w.
    This camera is not slow at all IMO.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +373
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Unless I am missing it there is no way to change to a lower resolution. Only standard and widescreen (15.5mp).

    Tap'd from my Droid Turbo
     
  7. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    I don't think this was on the highest Mp setting.... looks good to me though:)

    [​IMG]
     
  8. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    Ut Oh.... my Office Manager just came in and said, "What did you do different with those photos, I can't upload them they are Too Big (the file)" On with tech support to figure this out. Otherwise the phone goes back. I have to be able to use it in my business.

    I mean Duh, these phones are going to be the future - gotta be able to interface with these stupid companies. Not the phones fault IMO.
     
  9. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Very odd....I've always had multiple options to adjust the MP size/resolution on my last few devices. Apparently the Turbo doesn't give you this option.
    [​IMG]
    Mine goes as low as 2.4mp.

    S5 tap'n
     
    #9 cr6, Nov 3, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2014
  10. CaptainSS

    CaptainSS Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    Pocono Mountains, In the Woods
    Ratings:
    +497
    In my case (Insurance Companies) I have to open the pictures in "Paint" and shrink them in order to Upload them into Document Vault.
    At least I can keep my phone except I'm probably going to have to give my Office Manager a raise.... this is getting expensive o_O
     
  11. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +373
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    This is all that is available. I find it odd there are not more resolution choices.

    [​IMG]

    Tap'd from my Droid Turbo
     
  12. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +373
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Here is a sunset pic I just snapped.

    [​IMG]

    Tap'd from my Droid Turbo
     
Search tags for this page

droid turbo screen brightness