Sapphire Update Help

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by mattevans, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. mattevans

    mattevans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Friends! I have root and through ROM Manager I am currently running Sapphire 1.1.0. This morning it said there was an update (through Rom Manager notifications) for 1.1.1 When I hit update. I checked Google Apps. I backed Up and I wiped. Luckily the back-up worked, but it took me back to 1.1.0.

    Is there a reason you think that it isn't updating? Is there a step I am missing? I have noticed my ROM MANAGER acting sort of strange. Sometime I have to flash it twice before it will back up.

    Thanks!

    Matt
     
  2. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just try downloading the files manually and updating in clockwork recovery.

    Wipe is probably not needed coming from 1.1.0.
     
  3. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Last I heard from the team, whoever uploaded the ROM Manager update has the updating happening in the wrong order. It should first install the sapphire update, then the gapps update, then whatever kernel you want then whatever theme.

    So the best choice would to be to manually get into clockwork and apply the updates in the correct order until this gets resolved...if indeed this is your issue. I downloaded from the wiki page and installed manually and have no issues so far.

    Edit: The first page here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/cvpcs/79204-1-1-1-sapphire-release-anoucement.html has the download links. Post #23 describes what I was trying to say. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
  4. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    :welcome: to the forum Matt! We're very happy to have you join us! :D

    I merged your threads for you as cross posting is not allowed in here.

    If I were you I'd just get rid of RM. It's iffy to say the least and only a select few have total success with no headaches.
     
  5. mattevans

    mattevans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry guys, can you walk me through how I would do it manually?

    -DL the file to my SD Card, then?

    Thanks!
     
  6. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Can't blame RM for this - the ccroms team just made a mistake in the manifest.
     
  7. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Boot into recovery.
    Select "install zip from sdcard"
    Install sapphire 1.1.1 update.zip
    Then do the same for the gapps package.

    Reboot.
     
  8. jville95

    jville95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    In my house in the middle of my street.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I installed Sapphire 1.1.1, coming from UD 8. I have no market or Gmail. Maybe I overlooked this in my search. Any help?

    *EDIT: Disregard. I just installed the gapps update.zip and I have my gmail now. Everything is everything.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
  9. mattevans

    mattevans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! Will it give me the option to install the gapps package after the update?

    EDIT: I did everything you said and am now updated and working fine! Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2010
  10. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    It's not like ROM Manager - you have to do things yourself. ;)

    Install the gapps package exactly as you did the main package.
     
  11. mattevans

    mattevans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got it! Thanks! Maybe I'll just use this method from now on.
     
  12. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally, I've never used RM, but I find doing things manually to be very reliable as long as you follow the steps correctly.
     
  13. mattevans

    mattevans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How would you go about changing themes or selecting KERNALS manually?
     
  14. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing you did with the ROM. I use SPrecovery, so I rename the Theme/Kernel zip file to Update.zip, put it on the root of my SD card and install it from the recovery menu. I do the ROM, gapps, Kernel, Theme, in that order. It takes a little longer, but I'm in control of what happens and when it happens.
     
  15. mattevans

    mattevans New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and you find the themes and kernals online? Thanks again!