Restoring Phone Using MyBackupPro

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by glamtek666, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. glamtek666
    Offline

    glamtek666 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Like many, my Droid(Stock, 2.1) has been lagging like crazy. I want to do a Factory reset. Ive installed MyBackupPro, and backed everything up. I've never done this before and am a little nervous. Ive searched the forums and cant find a step-by-step. Could someone throw this worry-wart a bone and give a detailed walk through of how to restore once the phone is wiped? Thanks.dancedroid
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    If I were you I'd just do a factory data reset through the privacy section of your Droid. When I've done that all my apps were waiting for me when I signed in.

    It's easy to do the reinstall of apps you just select reinstall if I remember correctly. What I do remember is that it did not restore all of my unpaid apps, just a portion of them.

    Just use the factory data reset. It should work just fine and it will refresh your Droid.
     
  3. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the factory reset restores all pics and data on the SD card as well??
     
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    It won't touch the SD card. Just works on the phone itself. :)
     
  5. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    factory reset will not touch the sd card

    to use mybackup pro after reseting, download a file manager from the market (astro works). then find the mybackuppro apk on the sd card to install it (just do a search for it)

    after that you can go into the app and restore what you want
     
  6. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks fellas .. my droid has been laggy as hell the past few weeks .. hope this helps
     
  7. Juggernaut
    Offline

    Juggernaut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Triad, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Post back with a report if you don't mind. Mine is getting the same way, especially when making calls.
     
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Just want to mention don't forget about basic maintenance. Clear cookies, clean cache. I purchased a cache cleaner for rooted phones that does an excellent job.

    Just like a computer, it requires a little maintenance.
     
Search tags for this page
how to restore mybackup pro new phone
,

mybackup pro restore to new phone