r u using a RAZR + foxfi + nexus 7 ? How's it working?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by nomadicnut, Oct 10, 2012.

  1. nomadicnut
    Offline

    nomadicnut Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to get a tablet like nexus and use wifi with phone to establish connection.

    Can I do this and not get charged extra? I'm on an unlimited plan w/vzw.
     
  2. 94lt1
    Online

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,442
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,294
    I do it all the time.. well, I use a maxx.. same thing, and it works well. I have no complaints or problems. :)
     
  3. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    I have the Maxx and the Nexus 7...like 94lt1 states...works like a charm. There are a couple of ways to do it. You can use WiFi Transfer...an app in Play Store to connect the two or you can use ES File Explorer to do the same thing.
     
  4. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Same but different Bionic + FoxFi + Acer 100 = Works like a charm
     
  5. Redsnk95
    Offline

    Redsnk95 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +14
    Yep. Razr Maxx + FoxFi + Xoom tab works great.
     
  6. nomadicnut
    Offline

    nomadicnut Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can both the phone and tablet be used at the same time while doing this? Sharing the data connection i guess is what i mean?

    I want to read news on the phone and someone else wants to watch Netflix.
     
  7. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yes.
     
  8. nomadicnut
    Offline

    nomadicnut Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Brilliant. You guys are the best. Thanks for you're help.
     
  9. mcsoul
    Offline

    mcsoul Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's fine unles you have a weak 4g signal that goes in and out, switching between 3 and 4.
     
  10. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +314
    I have never had luck with FoxFi, I use WiFi tether that requires root to connect my Nexus 7 and have never had any problems.
     
  11. Joe Droid
    Offline

    Joe Droid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    No problems with Razr and Foxfi with either a laptop or Toshiba Thrive. Also have a Razr Maxx and it's the same way. BTW, I live where there is NO 4G and have no problems at all. I've even used it where there wasn't 3G, but it was really slow.

    Just my 2 cents.
     
  12. nomadicnut
    Offline

    nomadicnut Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this enough 4G signal to connect effectively with another device.

    I am constantly at this strength and never have a problem with the phone alone.

    (see photo)
     
  13. Joe Droid
    Offline

    Joe Droid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have connected with that little of connection at 3G, but it wasn't real fast.
     
  14. rwhyel
    Offline

    rwhyel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hanover Pa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a razr with a transformer tf101.....i get a connection but as soon as i connect all data goes away.....but as soon as i disconnect my phone has all the data in thw world....any suggestions let me know
     
  15. C2Cab95
    Offline

    C2Cab95 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NW Arkansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been using Fox-Fi as well as the native Verizon Hot Spot on my N7 without any issues.
     
Search tags for this page
foxfi nexus 7 razor maxx
,
how to connect nexus 10 to foxfi
,

nexus 7 foxfi