Foxfi working on this phone?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR M' started by RazrMOwner, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. RazrMOwner

    RazrMOwner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    BUMP - does anyone has Foxfi enabled on this phone? If not, were you able to Elixir or another program to get free wifi hotspot?

    By the way, I tried Elixir, and it just asks me to subscribe to the service.

    Thanks
     
  2. RazrMOwner

    RazrMOwner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope. Tried it. Does it work on your maxx?
     
  3. RazrMOwner

    RazrMOwner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey I got something to work: SVTP-Lite is working right now. $15 app. Might be worth it. I'll use it for the 2-day trial and let you all know.
     
  4. SteveIrv

    SteveIrv Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm not passing judgment of any kind on this topic.....but.....

    With the unlimited data plans, if you wish to tether or use your phone for a hotspot you are required by your terms of service to pay Verizon $20 a month for doing THAT. Yes...there are apps that will allow you to do it without paying, but if you get caught....it's considered 'theft of service" and you can get your service cut and your account closed.

    The new share everything plans do not required payment of additional fees for tethering or using your phone as a hotspot. My Razr M (like my D2G also) have hotspot capability built in and there is no need to run an app to create a hotspot. The only real reason to do so (on this phone) would be to circumvent your terms of service and get out of paying any required fees.
     
  5. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +1,903
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    If you have a tiered plan then the hotspot is free. This was an fcc ruling that Verizon could not charge limited plans the hotspot fee. If they are still charging you then call them and tell them to remove the fees. Essentially it is illegal for them to do so.
     
  6. scottstribling

    scottstribling New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got my Razr M to day and downloaded FoxFi and the FoxFi add-on. Also purchased an IPad2 WiFi and I have it working using FoxFi on my M.
     
  7. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6,138
    Likes Received:
    1,699
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +1,903
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Thanks Scott! This is good to know cuz I haven't had a chance to check this out yet.
     
  8. RazrMOwner

    RazrMOwner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I contacted Foxfi via email, and they notified me after a couple of weeks that it was now working. So I uninstalled and reinstalled Foxfi and it works now.

    Thank you Foxfi!!!!
     
  9. RicKaysen

    RicKaysen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been struggling with this issue and uninstalled Foxfi last mont. I read your reply and decided to try it again. After downloading and ibstalling it again, I get this message when I attempt to open FoxFi, I get this message:

    "Checking subscription status"
    "Your order could not be processed at this time"
    "Call customer service"

    Then it gives me a Verizon 800 number.
     
  10. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FoxFi/Barnacle/Mobile HotSpot

    FoxFi was one of the first apps I installed last week when I got my Razr M (and I was still on my old Verizon unlimited data plan).
    It worked perfectly.

    I was going to use Barnacle, as that's what I used on my old Droid - but Barnacle requires rooting and SU.

    A few days ago I switched my Verizon plan to a new 'share everything' plan (reducing my bill by $20/mo) and now the native mobile hotspot app is working, so I've uninstalled FoxFi.
     
  11. RicKaysen

    RicKaysen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
  12. slsmag

    slsmag New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did my test before my phone updated to 4.1
    <shrug>
     
Search tags for this page
does foxfi work on lg intuition
,
does foxfi work on moto x
,
does foxfi work with lg intuition
,
droid razr m foxfi
,
foxfi cannot connect to verizon server
,
foxfi hotspot no internet access
,
foxfi lg intuition
,
foxfi your order could not be processed
,
lg intuition foxfi
,

unfortunately foxfi has stopped