Question regarding Wfi Hotspot

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by GadgetRick, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I currently have my OG Droid rooted so I can use it as a Wifi hotspot (I use Barnacle). Someone mentioned to me they didn't think this would work with 4G, only 3G. Anyone know this for sure? My Bionic should arrive today and I plan to root it so I can use it as a Wifi hotspot.

    Thanks.
  2. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Bumpity bump...
  3. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Anyone? Buehler...Buehler...

    I REALLY don't want to spend another $30 a month for WiFi Hotspot. If it won't work, I'll have to and I won't root my phone.
  4. sqchram
    Offline

    sqchram Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dunno. If not now, then maybe soon.. i too am interested in this

    Oh nice low member #. I just got ya beat!
  5. bryan.teeples
    Offline

    bryan.teeples Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hotspot feature is only an additional 20 not 30 and if you're grandfathered into unlimited data is well worth it. I'd do that before taking a risk of being throttled for unauthorized tethering.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  6. rwking
    Offline

    rwking Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The wifi feature should be available when some solid ROMs come out. Until then use PDAnet and tether with USB cable. Stopped by speedtest.net and scored a nice 7 mb down / 2 mb up with my Bionic tethered to my macbook. Honestly, I was paying $25 / month for AT&T "high-speed" DSL and the max guaranteed download rate was 6 mb. In reality I was getting about 3-4 mb down. My tethered Bionic is a HUGE step up from DSL. SO, I cancelled my contract with AT&T and plan to USB tether until I can flash a new ROM that includes the WiFi feature. Fortunately, I'm grandfathered from an old Alltel unlimited data plan. Woot. Won't ever change plans - at least until they force me to. haha Cheers!
  7. bigkhan
    Offline

    bigkhan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    check the hacks section, and read the wireless tether thread. there is a video there that will show you how to use the stock hot spot app you have on your phone without the phone checking for subscription status. it works, ive done it. there are people who are afraid that verizon will catch them but no one has been caught yet.
  8. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks. I've seen the hack but worries about hacking Verizon software.

    Whether it's $20 or $30 is irrelevant. I don't believe I should pay for bandwidth twice. This is why I did it before and hope to do it again. May have to just wait for custom ROMs then bummer.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  9. korp
    Offline

    korp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wrong .... $30 for a 4G phone if you have unlimited data and get unlimited hotspot.

    Technically you are not paying for it twice. You are paying for internet on your phone and then for a computer if you want hotspot .... two different services.
  10. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Technically,it's the same bandwidth. Doesn't matter where it's being used. You aee paying for it twice.

    I dont pay the cable company extra for the multiple devices i run through my connection. Why do i have to with Verizon?
    Just sick of getting screwed over on bandwidth constantly.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums