Power button..

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Axium, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. Axium

    Axium Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    had my droid for over a year.. my power button seems a bit loose.. and seems to sit slightly deeper than it used to.. so wearing out. is any one elses getting this way? or has anyone had their power button completely not responsive? wondering how long i got left in this droid. trying to hold out for that bionic or something >.<
     
  2. gflam

    gflam Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've heard of people who just remap their keys in /system/usr/keylayout (off memory may be wrong) but they remap the keys so that the camera button turns the phone on and off and turns the screen on and off just for ur future knowledge if it happens to u

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  3. Axium

    Axium Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that tip, does that mean I can set the camera button to wake the phone but still function as its original intention? the filepath is correct, il have to dig at it later on, not sure what to put and where, judging "WAKE" somehwere to whatever key # is binded to camera
     
  4. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Mine is doing the same, I see it as just a matter of time...
     
  5. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    The thread was up just the other day. The OP gave directions for doing it. Where the code is and what they changed it to. I think the thread was "remap camera button" but I can't be sure.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Power button broke - want to remap camera button. That's the thread title.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  7. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    here
     
  8. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,619
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +13
    Current Phone Model:
    S4
    Thanks tp!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
how to remap power button on droid
,
remap power button droid razr
,

remap power to volume button