please help phone wont change roms

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jordanshipwreck, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. jordanshipwreck
    Offline

    jordanshipwreck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i havent bought rom manager but ive been just downloading the roms off the developers page and installing from sd, idk if that makes a dif on the droid or not, so i got Bgill55’S Red Rum V4.1 rom on my phone running, i want JRummy’s Remix Red V.07 running but evertime i go to install it says something about not finding file, ive even tried to install new cyanogen 5.0.6.2 but it wont let me do that ether. so i can get 5.0.6.1 cyan running but it wont let me update. please help me. i want to know how to do this, i rooted last week and been lost as hell, oh and im running 2.1 rooted moto droid
     
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,134
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +209
    If you're running sprecovery a lot of the ROMs you mentioned won't work as they require clockwork rocovery. Both recoveries use nandroid, but are not compatible.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. jordanshipwreck
    Offline

    jordanshipwreck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have clockwork, wen i press power and x it says clockwork recovery latest version, i use rom manager just the free one
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2010
  4. Shizzy1427
    Offline

    Shizzy1427 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you wiping data and cache when trying to switch? And you should probably be using clean nandroid's not just update.zip's, if thats what youre doing.

    when flashing a new ROM it is good practice to always wipe data and cache twice before installing the new ROM.
     
  5. jordanshipwreck
    Offline

    jordanshipwreck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    whats a clean nandroid, i just download the jrummy new red rom to my sd(download folder) and im running bill red rom and just want to change theme. ive tryd wiping data.
     
  6. jordanshipwreck
    Offline

    jordanshipwreck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    my current rom is cyanogen 5.0.6.1, everytime i go to download new one it says cant open or something and has (bad) at the end
     
  7. forkup
    Offline

    forkup Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using install zip from sdcard or install update.zip? Use install zip from sdcard.
     
  8. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Do yourself a favor and buy Rom Manager. You will not have all these problems.
     
  9. jordanshipwreck
    Offline

    jordanshipwreck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    honestly im just trying to get new cyanogen and it wont let me
     
Search tags for this page

the rom wont change