Old news, I am sure, but I just found this and smiled.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by robyr, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. robyr
    Offline

    robyr New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was happily droiding it up on my phone today, typing a twitter update on my phone earlier. I must have swiped my finger across the screen by accident because a little number/symbol slide came out of the stock Android keyboard.

    I am running FroYo, so I have no idea is this is limited to 2.2 phones, but I couldn't stop grinning. Thats the kind of thing that makes Android an excellent platform. Check it out for yourselves, if it is in FroYo only, its a damn good reason to upgrade now.
  2. Moreno
    Offline

    Moreno New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    I just checked my Droid, no Froyo 2.2 yet. Which droid do you have? I would assume the original Droid by Motorola. Did you root your phone and download it?
  3. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it's the new 2.2 keyboard! just swipe up to access symbols/numbers!
  4. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    ^This. The new android 2.2 keyboard has this feature. 2.1 and before do not.
  5. rickdarris2004
    Offline

    rickdarris2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm. I can't seem to get this to work on Bugless Beast 0.4. Any ideas?
  6. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well if that isn't just the bees knees!!!!
  7. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Same w/ CM6 RC1. No worky:(
  8. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are using the stock android keyboard right? I'm BB 0.4 right now and its workin great.
  9. JMU_Droid
    Offline

    JMU_Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure about the other ROMs, but it works on Sapphire 0.8.4
  10. ocholoco
    Offline

    ocholoco New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago

    also on bb .4 and can't seem to work it. am running fabolous' droid X theme, could that be a factor?
  11. dodgersrgood
    Offline

    dodgersrgood New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Working fine on cm6 for me
  12. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Yes, it is part of the froyo stock KB.
  13. lockman
    Offline

    lockman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    That's what is was. Running Bgill's green theme(bad-ass BTW) and I guess it uses the 2.1 KB.
  14. Abadus
    Offline

    Abadus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone notice when you long click an app and drag it to the trash, if you hold it there a second instead of deleting it will ask you if you want to un-install? Pretty cool LOL.
  15. nyijedi
    Offline

    nyijedi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on CM6 RC1. It works fine. Make sure you're using the stock Android keyboard.
  16. schollianmj
    Offline

    schollianmj New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    DC Metro...
    im on CM6RC1, no worky for me... Oh well...