Official STOCK 901 Update Thread (No Rooting Discussions)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by brunla, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. BLeClair12
    Offline

    BLeClair12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having very frequent data drops when moving from any place with WiFi to outside, etc. My 3G will take anywhere from a minute to five minutes or connect, but usually not at all without some sort of prodding (reboot, switching to airplane mode, etc). I'm set to CDMA only (no 4G here), and running the last official update. Would I potentially benefit from manually installing the .901 update?
  2. Escobar
    Offline

    Escobar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this only for BIONICS? I have data issues with my Rezound as well.

    Sent from my HTC REZOUND using DroidForums
  3. samwifi
    Offline

    samwifi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I updated to the stock 901 from stock 893 without rooting and I am so happy I did. I don't care about update paths etc.. lets face it, any update to ICS will take months to work out all of the bugs.. 901 is just solid and does seem to fix speed and connection issues.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
  4. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    There is a potential, but no guarantee. It's partly a network problem with the ability (or lack) for Verizon to verify quickly when your phone asks for a data connection.

    Yes, the update is only for the Bionic although the 4G data problem is happening to other phones.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  5. BLeClair12
    Offline

    BLeClair12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Went ahead and applied the update manually. Did absolutely nothing, in fact, it may have made it worse. My phone has now been running for 25 minutes and has yet to connect to the 3G network.
  6. bbtkd
    Offline

    bbtkd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Earth
    I see someone else already answered your question but - as delicately as possible - I would further suggest that if you didn't know the answer to this question, you don't have the technical bent to be doing out-of-band updates. You'll want to wait for the official releases to be sent for your phone.
  7. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    It was like that for me at first, but I live in a valley so any data is spotty at best. I went into Airplane Mode and even Restart Connection. 3G came and later 4G. For me I didn't notice much change, but actually away from my house I get 4G regularly even before 5.5.893. Battery life seemed to improve, though.
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
  8. BLeClair12
    Offline

    BLeClair12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may have actually spoken a bit too soon. It seems as though my connection has improved, at least a little bit. Haven't noticed quite as many drop offs in the last day and a half or so.
  9. FastKatt
    Offline

    FastKatt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Just got off the phone with Motorola... They still don't have a release date for 5.9.901, but did confirm that is the latest software being tested... If I want to mail my phone to TX they will "fix it" and send it back to me in 7-10days. He was 100% sure the problem could be corrected in this matter... I wonder what they would do to correct my data issues before returning it to me?
  10. jhom
    Offline

    jhom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Have you tried the SIM trick for the data drops? Supposedly, if you turn off your phone, pull the SIM, turn on your phone for 3 minutes without the SIM, turn off and reinstall the SIM, turn on the phone, your data drop problems should improve over the next day or so. Several posters have stated that they have had reduced data drops after pulling and reinstalling the SIM.

    YMMV. Good luck.
  11. FastKatt
    Offline

    FastKatt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Never saw that post...
    I'm trying that now.
    We'll see what happens =]
  12. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    What ever they do might work.......in TX. If it works when it gets back to you is a whole other matter. Now if your local Verizon Store could do the same thing, that would be better.
  13. FastKatt
    Offline

    FastKatt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    But, Big Red decided the stores don't need service techs... Just sales people... =(

    Swyped on my Droid Bionic, sent via Tapatalk.
  14. droidcraz119
    Offline

    droidcraz119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked for me...thanks for info
Search tags for this page

download froyo stock roms alcatel 903 zip

,

root bionic 903