Official STOCK 901 Update Thread (No Rooting Discussions)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by brunla, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. jkliving92
    Offline

    jkliving92 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Honestly with how unreliable the lte network has been there's no telling which is the culprit. My opinion is its Verizon. The 901 has fixed to many bionics for me to expect its the update. Just my opinion though. There always the slight chance it effects your phone in a completely different way than everybody elses and either have no positive affects or actually have negative affects.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  2. toyosup88
    Offline

    toyosup88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a feeling it's the network too. Hopefully it's not the phone

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  3. hts4215
    Offline

    hts4215 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking that as well, though after my reset yesterday the phone has been hanging onto the 4g signal a lot better today... will see.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. springbionic
    Offline

    springbionic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I found out about this update yesterday afternoon when my phone said a new update was available. I tapped the button to download and install it, but it immediately said it was unable to download the update (I was at work, and reception is VERY spotty). I thought, "I can install it when I get home," but every time I check for updates it says my phone is up to date, but the version still says .893. Did I miss my chance, or will it offer the update again at some point?
     
  5. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    AFAIK, if you're scheduled to receive it, any time you turn the phone on you should get the notice. Updates can download in the background and you'll get a notice to install (rather that download and install). Updates (for the unrooted) are mandatory; if you decline it'll ask an hour later.

    5.5.893 is the current OTA version while 5.9.901 is the version that went OTA to just a few. You can install it manually, if you want to.
     
  6. Rckymtn
    Offline

    Rckymtn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone, first post.

    I manually updated my phone to the latest 901 update and my phone is running great. Data drops are very seldom now and battery life has increased tremendously!


    Thanks for the walk throughs on how to install from the sd card!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  7. FrankieZee
    Offline

    FrankieZee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if the problems are completely network related or just the phone. My Bionic never got any worse data coverage than my original Droid did. But we just got my girlfriend the new iPhone and she gets data in areas where I can't even get a phone call. Both of us are on Verizon in the Northern Midwest, where US Cellular is the most reliable service all around.

    Since my update to 901, I do seem to have more reliable data, but it's nothing compared to her iPhone. Not sure about my battery life, but I recently discovered Google currents, so I've been using that a lot lately.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  8. FrankieZee
    Offline

    FrankieZee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    And before anyone can say it, I know the iPhone is not a 4G phone. I'm just using it as an example to compare data coverage between two devices on the same network. :)

    If these issues were mostly with the carrier itself, I would think I would at least have 3G along with a different device on the same network.

    Then again, I can't say I know exactly how 4G works as compared to 3G. I just know I like it when I have it!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  9. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    That's a bad comparison. The 4G phones have a different way of communicating with the towers even in 3G mode. From everything I've read, it seems like the hangup is somewhere in the authentication procedure for the 4G devices.
     
  10. FrankieZee
    Offline

    FrankieZee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh, then that shoots my theory down. But it also gives me hope that they're hard at work fixing it!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  11. Scribble
    Offline

    Scribble Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep. Apparently since Verizon wants to move completely to 4g within the next couple of years they wanted the 4g phones to even authenticate 3g with the same system they use for 4g. Supposedly to make the transition nice and smooth. Which obviously worked right? ;)
     
  12. cokerchuck
    Offline

    cokerchuck New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    southeast texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. That fixed my problem.
     
  13. steelman52
    Offline

    steelman52 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had updated my Bionic with the leaked 5.7.??? and it wouldn't take the .901 update. So, I used the method posted earlier in this thread to take it back to stock 5.5.886. Now, when it tries to update to the OTA update it fails every time. It also fails when I try to do the .901 update which I have installed on the SD card. The phone has never been rooted, just the leaked updates installed. Any help would be appreciated...
     
  14. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    You'll need to be at 5.5.893 for the 5.9.901 update to work. See post #117 above.
     
  15. steelman52
    Offline

    steelman52 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's my problem. The 5.5.893 OTA update keeps failing. The link you pointed me to on post #117 says it roots the phone when it does it's thing, and I really wasn't wanting to root it, just get it back to stock and on the upgrade path. Are there any other fixes to get it back to stock that doesn't root the phone? (I've already done the fix to take it from 5.7.897(?) to 5.5.886, which was supposed to get it to a state to accept the 5.5.893 OTA update, but something has gone foul)
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
Search tags for this page

download froyo stock roms alcatel 903 zip

,

root bionic 903