~OFFICIAL: FRG01B FroYo Issues/Solutions Thread~

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by alm0614, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    P3Droid has one: Droid - FRG22D, rooted, deodexed, busyboxed **Rooted Users
     
  2. MarkDF

    MarkDF Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did that step, and it did indeed seem to cure some of the lag and slowness. However, my main complaint now is that my battery life is almost half of what it was pre-2.2. No, I'm not running anti-virus or task killers. With 2.1 I could go 18 hours and still have a green battery. The last couple of days the battery has been dead after 12 hours. No change in apps, no change in usage. Only change was the 2.2 upgrade.

    Did a factory reset last night, hopefully that fixes the battery. A phone that doesn't make it through a normal working day is somewhat less than useful.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Yes, that it is. I'm glad the update fixed the main issues you were having at first, though. If the factory reset doesn't fix the issue, try the following.

    Let the battery drain completely, so the phone turns itself off, and then charge it for 2 hours on a wall charger without interruption. No, it's not cycling the battery; it's cycling the phone. The phone is smart; it learns. The problem is sometimes what it learns isn't always accurate, especially when the rules change. What it learned in this case was a bad way to gauge battery life. So you cycle it all the way down and all the way back up and the phone relearns the battery state and charge levels. I had to do it on mine a couple weeks back and now my battery is lasting about 50% longer unless I'm going into zero signal areas while driving. Then the battery STILL craps out unless I turn on airplane mode for those areas.

    I hope that helps if it's needed! :)

    Also, the battery on some phones doesn't seem to be surviving more than 10 months. I've noticed the complaint about shortened battery life from people who've had their phones the longest increased sharply lately.
     
  4. HaLo2FrEeEk

    HaLo2FrEeEk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, anyone following the issue's I'd been having with the phone freezing, here's an update.

    I started slowly restoring my data to the SD card yesterday. I got my pictures, my downloads, and some of my music before I had to go to work. I worked at 3 and the phone worked perfectly until just a few minutes ago when I put the APK for Flash 10.1 on the phone, as SOON as I turned off USB storage, the phone froze again. I plugged it back into the computer and the charging light came on, but not the screen. I left it for a few minutes and it restarted itself and now it's working. I have no doubt now that 2.2 doesn't like having APK's on the SD card, which makes things really difficult, but as long as it's not my music or anything else, I'm ok with it.

    Also, if I go to the store today, do you think they'll be able to flash the FRG22D update to the phone? I REALLY don't want to have to do anymore factory resets, I'm getting sick and tired of restoring all my apps and everything to their proper places.

    Update: Ugh, nevermind. I don't know what the heck I dd but it's like this thing has a hair trigger. All I did was put the flash APK on the card, and it froze. After it restarted it worked for long enough to install Flash, after which I deleted the APK. As soon as I opened the browser, it froze. I took the battery out and restarted it, messed with it for a while and opened the browser again...froze. This time I just let it sit and eventually it restarted AGAIN. I have no doubt that when I start the browser again it'll freeze again, lemme try.

    I just tried it and I'm surprised, I managed to not only load the browser, but type a url and go to a different site. Still, this is ridiculous, this thing just needs to work, I shouldn't have to walk on eggshells hoping that my phone won't freeze.
     
    #700 HaLo2FrEeEk, Aug 26, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Last I heard FRG22D isn't officially rolling out yet.

    You could do the manual update to it. No factory reset required. But then you'll get the nag screen asking you to update to FRG01B. And that file will be the larger file, so...

    I washed my hands of FRG22D after being mocked in the thread, so you'll have to head over there for more info and the latest rumors/information.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...d-update-2-2-froyo-frg22-rolling-out-now.html
     
  6. mec6250

    mec6250 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
  8. Kristina

    Kristina New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't scroll webpages after 2.2

    My boyfriend and I both have Motorola Droids and he has not been able to scroll down on a webpage, mainly Outlook Web Access, while viewing in landscape with his keyboard out (if that makes a difference) since 2.2. I tried on mine to test it and mine will not scroll, either. Is there a setting that changed with 2.2 that would affect scrolling in landscape view?

    Also, Flash is not working for either of us. I have read many different solutions that seem to work for others but not me. I have read to install the Adobe app, which I did, I have heard that some people had Flash work automatically, but no luck here.
     
  9. jasonpbyu

    jasonpbyu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was directed to this thread by a closed one, but after going through 10 pages I dont see this issue... really dont have the time to wade through 70 pages.

    When in 'messaging' since updating to 2.2 it shows home #, fax #, office #, mobile #, etc... before it would only show mobile. Is this a setting somewhere that I'm not seeing?
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Manual or OTA-pushed updates? If manual did you use the larger file or the smaller file?

    First thing to do if any file but the larger one was used is to install the larger update file manually, see if that fixes the issue. If it doesn't, troubleshooting will ensue.

    As for Flash, what do you mean it's not working? Are you using the latest leak/official build or an early beta? What testing did you do? Did you install it or just download it to the phone?
     
  11. HaLo2FrEeEk

    HaLo2FrEeEk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I gave Verizon a call, and they transfered me to Motorola, then I got transfered to a Tier 2 Motorola rep, who talked to me for about 30 minutes and determined what I was pretty sure I already knew: the SD card is what's causing the issue on my phone. Not just the SD card though, some combination of the SD card and APK files. Right now the phone works perfectly, there are only pictures and music on the card. It worked perfectly yesterday with the same content, but earlier today I put an APK file (for Flash 10.1) on the card and the instant I unplugged it from the computer, it froze. When it restarted, I installed Flash, then tried to open the browser, froze. Restarted, deleted the APK, tried to open browser...froze. Restarted AGAIN (remember the APK was deleted) and tried to open the browser...it worked. I'm thinking perhaps something physically wrong with the SD card is conflicting with the APK file somehow. I called my local Verizon store and they said that I could come in and try downloading an APK on a new card, if it works then they'd replace the card.

    I'm on my way out in a few minutes to do just that. I'll let you know how it turns out.
     
  12. JohnnytheK

    JohnnytheK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    In ADW at least and I think Launcher Pro you can drag an icon over the globe or phone. Personally I like having the phone and web available on each screen but to each his own.

    My problem is the home screen redraws, why should it be such a big deal, why redraw at all? Can't you not refresh the screen, I mean why would it re-draw?
     
Search tags for this page

android froyo troubleshooting

,

frouo issues

,

froyo 07 issues

,

froyoissues