1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

not bricked but not good

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by AKmilestone, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    in short I have a short time to fix a data problem I caused...

    I rooted my milestone and lost all data connection except wifi. I tried reflashing with several different SBFs and was told to build a new APN but I cant get APNs to save.

    I am hoping to find a rootable SBF that is known to work on ACS (Alaska Communication Systems) but any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

    Model A854 but now reads as follows...

    Model-----Droid
    firmware--2.1-update1
    baseband-C_01.3E.03P
    Kernel-----2.6.29-omap1-g7fa8788 android build@apa26 #1
    build #----ESE81

    as a rookie I don't understand most of this yet but I am learning...
    I fly back to work Sunday and really need this back on-line before I go if at all possible.

    Thanks in advance for any help
    Keith
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Sounds like you flashed a Droid SBF onto your Milestone.

    I can't be 100% on that, though, because I'd assume the bootloader would prevent such shenanigans from taking place... Hmm. I have no experience with a Milestone, unfortunately.
  3. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    that is just the most recent I have flashed a few. I went with some droid SBFs because the instructions to get droid x into recovery was hold X while pushing power and that is how I had to get my milestone there as well... even from stock.
  4. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You are contradicting yourself. You have listed 3 devices.. None of them are the same, and each requires different instructions and files..

    Please be more specific to get better directed help.
  5. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    not sure where the contradiction is but it is as it says...
    the info in the first post says what the phone says now.
    the instructions for getting the milestone into recovery NEVER worked for my phone (camera button) only the X button as the instructions for droid x... therefore i tried SBFs for the X also not sure what is on there now but it is getting harder to get anywhere so I am looking for a different SBF that is for milestone and hopefully is known to work with ACS as I need to get my 3g back.

    thanks for the help and sorry for the confusion.
  6. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    The original Droid1 (Sholes) is Power + X to get to recovery, not the DroidX (Shadow). To get to the bootloader (to flash an SBF) its Power + D-Up.

    Recovery is NOT the bootloader.

    Sholes Droid1 is NOT a Milestone Droid1.

    DroidX has nothing to do with any of this.
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2010
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I'm totally confused, where did you read that booting the droid x up with the x button goes into recovery, it doesn't have a keyboard. I'm surprised that using an sbf for a different phone didn't brick yours.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I'm mainly confused about how he flashed an SBF through the recovery menu...
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    That too

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska

    I am only saying I understand none of this so I was trying different SBFs because none of them helped me get my 3g back or allowed me to save a working APN.

    so... should I look for a Sholes SBF?
  11. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska

    I didn't flash from recovery I was using that as an example as to how my phone acted using the commands I found on internet somewhere.
    I flashed with RSD lite through bootloader
  12. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    is there any more info I can pull off my phone to help you guys help me? I am just trying to get back going again before I have to go to work.
    I do know when I got my phone I bought a Milestone it had a model # of A854. I will get any info you need if I know how or can find out.
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I don't have much knowledge about the milestone. But all I know is if I got this far down the rabbit hole I would just find the most up to date milestone sbf and flash that. Like I said though this is a little out of my area of expertise so I don't have much relevant advice...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Spaz gives good advice. Once you get the latest SBF on you should have to reactivate it, and that will give you the latest PRL; that should give you the best chance of connecting to the 3G network.

    If you're still having issues once you get back from work we can try to help a little more. :)
  15. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    I will try that... for a complete rookie what is PRL?
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    PRL means preferred roaming list. It tells the phone which signals to ignore and which to connect to. Basically it programs the phone to allow you to connect to compatible networks and not get charged for roaming. The shortcut on Verizon phones us to dial *22899 and wait for it to tell you the programming is done.

    This came from my brain by way of my finger and my phone. Don't ask where any of them have been. Especially the brain.
  17. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    I have now gone back to unrooted with MILER_X1_00260_MILER_CDMA_BP_0.sbf for milestone and I still need some way to get my APN fixed... any ideas today?
  18. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    tried APN backup restore.... no go.
    Should I be looking for a radio file?
    anyone know how I can get APN files to save when I need to change MCC MNC?
  19. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska

    did that... no go... now have...

    Model A854
    firmware 2.1
    baseband C_01.07.00R
    Kernel 2.6.29-omap1 dcn637@zch45inxdroid24#1
    build miller_X1_00.26.1


    still no 3G wrong info on APN and poor radio (several times a day have to reset radio by rebooting phone or going into airplane mode and out again.

    Please help
    Thanks to all who took the time to read this mess.
  20. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Two questions:

    One, what Milestone do you have? There are a couple of variants kicking around, including a rebadged Droid without the locked bootloader.

    Two, have you considered flashing a ROM like CyanogenMod for the Milestone?
Search tags for this page
miller x1 00260
,

miller x1 00260 miller cdma

,

miller x1 00260 miller cdma bp