not bricked but not good

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by AKmilestone, Nov 11, 2010.

  1. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    in short I have a short time to fix a data problem I caused...

    I rooted my milestone and lost all data connection except wifi. I tried reflashing with several different SBFs and was told to build a new APN but I cant get APNs to save.

    I am hoping to find a rootable SBF that is known to work on ACS (Alaska Communication Systems) but any advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

    Model A854 but now reads as follows...

    Model-----Droid
    firmware--2.1-update1
    baseband-C_01.3E.03P
    Kernel-----2.6.29-omap1-g7fa8788 android build@apa26 #1
    build #----ESE81

    as a rookie I don't understand most of this yet but I am learning...
    I fly back to work Sunday and really need this back on-line before I go if at all possible.

    Thanks in advance for any help
    Keith
     
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Sounds like you flashed a Droid SBF onto your Milestone.

    I can't be 100% on that, though, because I'd assume the bootloader would prevent such shenanigans from taking place... Hmm. I have no experience with a Milestone, unfortunately.
     
  3. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    that is just the most recent I have flashed a few. I went with some droid SBFs because the instructions to get droid x into recovery was hold X while pushing power and that is how I had to get my milestone there as well... even from stock.
     
  4. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are contradicting yourself. You have listed 3 devices.. None of them are the same, and each requires different instructions and files..

    Please be more specific to get better directed help.
     
  5. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure where the contradiction is but it is as it says...
    the info in the first post says what the phone says now.
    the instructions for getting the milestone into recovery NEVER worked for my phone (camera button) only the X button as the instructions for droid x... therefore i tried SBFs for the X also not sure what is on there now but it is getting harder to get anywhere so I am looking for a different SBF that is for milestone and hopefully is known to work with ACS as I need to get my 3g back.

    thanks for the help and sorry for the confusion.
     
  6. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    The original Droid1 (Sholes) is Power + X to get to recovery, not the DroidX (Shadow). To get to the bootloader (to flash an SBF) its Power + D-Up.

    Recovery is NOT the bootloader.

    Sholes Droid1 is NOT a Milestone Droid1.

    DroidX has nothing to do with any of this.
     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2010
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm totally confused, where did you read that booting the droid x up with the x button goes into recovery, it doesn't have a keyboard. I'm surprised that using an sbf for a different phone didn't brick yours.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  8. billygalbreath
    Offline

    billygalbreath Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm mainly confused about how he flashed an SBF through the recovery menu...
     
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    That too

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0

    I am only saying I understand none of this so I was trying different SBFs because none of them helped me get my 3g back or allowed me to save a working APN.

    so... should I look for a Sholes SBF?
     
  11. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0

    I didn't flash from recovery I was using that as an example as to how my phone acted using the commands I found on internet somewhere.
    I flashed with RSD lite through bootloader
     
  12. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there any more info I can pull off my phone to help you guys help me? I am just trying to get back going again before I have to go to work.
    I do know when I got my phone I bought a Milestone it had a model # of A854. I will get any info you need if I know how or can find out.
     
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have much knowledge about the milestone. But all I know is if I got this far down the rabbit hole I would just find the most up to date milestone sbf and flash that. Like I said though this is a little out of my area of expertise so I don't have much relevant advice...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  14. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Spaz gives good advice. Once you get the latest SBF on you should have to reactivate it, and that will give you the latest PRL; that should give you the best chance of connecting to the 3G network.

    If you're still having issues once you get back from work we can try to help a little more. :)
     
  15. AKmilestone
    Offline

    AKmilestone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Alaska
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will try that... for a complete rookie what is PRL?
     
Search tags for this page
miller x1 00260
,

miller x1 00260 miller cdma

,

miller x1 00260 miller cdma bp