NEWB: I need some serious help PLEASE!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by spence19802003, Feb 16, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. spence19802003
    Offline

    spence19802003 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    st.louis
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I bought the Droid a few months back, love it except for ONE thing. I get no reception where I work! Which sucks, because I spend most of my time there. Ive tried the *228 thing multiple times and nothing, bought an external antenna and nothing. SOOOO I went to CRICKET of all places and got a wireless modem for my laptop and low and behold it gets service where I work! So Im wondering if there is a way I can use my cricket broadband/laptop to get service on my droid? I guess it would be the oppositte of tethering? Its so aggrevating..I can walk outside and get service with it, but none inside. And for some reason as of now its saying unable to enable my wifi on the droid!? WTF? Anyone? Please!
  2. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont know how to reverse tether..but if you have wifi at your work, you have to have patience with the droid. i bought a wireless router for my home and the first day it wouldnt connect but i just kept trying and trying and it finally just connected. ihave no explanation of why it wouldnt connect and i have no explanation of why it finaly did.
  3. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Verizon offers a device called the Network Extender that plugs into the back of your modem.. effectively making a mini cell tower. I would think it would be frowned upon at your work though :) Its expensive ($250), but there are rebates and discounts if you complain enough (I got mine for $100)...
  4. Matth3w
    Offline

    Matth3w New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Huachuca, AZ (Originally from Pittsburgh, PA)
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have one as well...works decent.

    Needs to plug directly into a router though via network cable. I'm guessing where you work the router isn't sitting next to your desk, it's most likely in the server room or God knows where.

    So perhaps you could talk work into letting you install one? Everyone would be able to use it unless you set up specific numbers. I can't remember how many people can connect at once, max.
  5. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Depends on where you work I guess... But, I work for UPS, and they don't want you using a personal flash drive on work equipment... They'd have heart attack you tried to bring a NE in.. :)
  6. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have one at home as well. Works fine as long as you are not eating up your bandwidth with anything else. Then you will get dropped calls etc.
  7. spence19802003
    Offline

    spence19802003 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    st.louis
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, I couldnt do that at work. lol. And the only way Im getting the net on my computer is with a wireless card from Cricket. However, now when I go to turn the wifi on on my droid it just says unable to turn on wifi??? Anyone?