Milestone's OTA update to 2.0.1

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by rsilves, Jan 13, 2010.

  1. rsilves
    Offline

    rsilves New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi. I know that the updates for the Motorola Milestone are to be released soon this month.
    I have one and live in Argentina. I bought it to the carrier that released the phone in Argentina, Telecom Personal.
    I would like to know if the updates depend on the phone carrier or if they are independent to that.
    That's because I have so little trust in Personal that if I know the updates depend on them, I automatically know they'll never care to release them here; and I'd have to root my phone and update it manually if I want 2.0.1 or 2.1.
    When I try to update manually from the Settings, I get this error message: "Unable to connect" "The device is unable to connect to the server. Try again later."
    Does this message appear to everyone? Or is this evidence of some missing link between my carrier and the "server"? Or what?

    I hope Motorola releases the update soon for everyone (I heard a rumor that they'd start today Jan 13... but no idea if that's true).

    Thanks,
    Rodrigo.
  2. greg_p
    Offline

    greg_p New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing in France so far, this morning...
  3. big_adventure
    Offline

    big_adventure New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Someone in Germany said that the server is now responding for them, but that there is still no update.

    In France, the server still doesn't reply.
  4. hkstanley
    Offline

    hkstanley New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In Hong Kong, the server is now responding, but that there is still no update.
  5. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Hi,

    im from germany, and YES, teh update servers are responding!

    But no updates so far!
  6. exxi
    Offline

    exxi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    servers are not responding in my German Device ; Vodafone.
  7. lesjaw
    Offline

    lesjaw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought milestone from UK...I use it in Indonesia...not responding here
  8. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Well,

    servers respond by turning the message "servers not reachable" into "System is on the highest patchlevel"

    that actually means two things:

    1st a update is near, because the servers are online (probably the 2.0.1)

    2nd they wont allow all IMEI Numbers at ONE time

    Tigger
  9. Skrilax_CZ
    Offline

    Skrilax_CZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you sure about the IMEI? Because Motorola on other phones uses the flex version as a decide factor for updates (on CLIQ it is inside cefs.mbn (radio.img)).
  10. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    well it is not quite sure beeing about the IMEI, but multiple rumors think its IMEI based!
  11. AlanN
    Offline

    AlanN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    B*gger all happening in the UK :mad:
  12. DAGr8
    Offline

    DAGr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    well I for 1 , will not update anyways , who will anyways ? I want root asap , if your like me wait for someone to extract and find the exploit witch most probably will be a few hours after OTA , I hear there is a race about to start :) , being a long time Motorola user , I can tell you 1 thing for sure : dont rely on them , they say something and then do something else ...
  13. DAGr8
    Offline

    DAGr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal


    Quote :
    They didn´t publish any release date this time, either. And considering the hard-headed attitude Motorola showed so far, I wouldn´t expect that update to be coming anytime soon.

    about an hour ago

    /quote



    exactly my taughts ... that s comming from the motorola Europe facebook group I am in the NAM , and since midnight that place has been crawling with ppl complaining about the update
    I do want root and sooner the better but 1 thing for sure motorola doesnt and will nto care about user's petition/complaint ( been there done that )

    To me the real slap in the face was when they announced the 2.1 (witch Nexus comes with fromt he start ) in the next 2 month ... I was like LOL , give me a break android willbe at 2.5 by then hahahah .but again once custom roms are out who needs motorola ? little hint that is probably why they do not release the update , in french we say : ' parlez-en en mal parlez-en en bien mais parlez-en quand meme '
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  14. greg_p
    Offline

    greg_p New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Motorola still has a lot of fixes to bring to current milestone and also droid. So at the contrairy, I would say that we need official release so that to have the cleaner base rom, then custom it.
  15. rsilves
    Offline

    rsilves New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ehm..
    I am still waiting for answers... No problem on turning my post into a "2.0.1 update [official post]" but at least try to answer my questions...

    Basing on what some wrote, I assume that this error I was having when trying to update was for all, and that if it changes it might mean that they are starting to work on the update (?)

    Anyway, I don't understand if the updates depend on Motorola only or if they depend on the carrier too. (??)

    Thanks,
    Rodrigo.

    Motorola Europe @ Facebook (an hour ago) said:
    Android fans, the 2.01 update for MILESTONE is on its way – we shared this news last week but didn’t specify an exact date. DROID was on sale in the US a month earlier than MILESTONE, which is why its update runs on a different schedule. Google is in the process of approving the MILESTONE 2.01 update and we ask for you ...r patience. As soon as we have a confirmed date, we’ll share this with you here - stay tuned...
    --
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2010
  16. Skrilax_CZ
    Offline

    Skrilax_CZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I guess it doesn't matter actually ...

    Unfotunately the Motorola Software Update (the program used to update SW on Moto phones) is not supporting Android phones as it seems, so there is no way of bringing a firmware there. Anyway if per chance somebody succeeds using Motorola Software Update and it flashes an updated firmware, don't hestitate to upload it (because root).
  17. rsilves
    Offline

    rsilves New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used phones which had different operative systems developed by Motorola, and those were updated with MSU. But Android is an OS developed by Google. Motorola works on it to adapt it to its own hardware, but they don't change it that much in order to add a custom software updater.
    If there is any "official" way of updating Android OS using a software (by google?) in the computer, Motorola might be able to add a capability to MSU to make the phone think it is Google's software.
    But I understand that to update the phone manually, you have to put the update file on the SD card and then restart the phone in a special way and it updates. Actually, I'm not sure if this is only for rooting the phone.

    Rodrigo.
  18. Skrilax_CZ
    Offline

    Skrilax_CZ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think Motorola deprecated MSU on Android because it is its own way of updating (OTA or update.zip). I am not aware of an official way by flashing with PC, as RSD Lite doesn't count, yet it is used by modders and works for Android as well. As reported from the CLIQ, you can even mess up both recovery and boot, and still you can revive the phone using RSD Lite (since it only needs the "Moto bootloader"), so having such possibility is great advantage. The structure of the flash file is parsed.

    I'm not saying that this is the only way to root, but in the way developped on the CLIQ the hole is on Motorola's side, not Google's, so it's likely to be there for Milestone and other Android Motorola's devices. Secondly it will also work on 2.1 preinstalled Milestones, where AFAIK the Droid method is already fixed.
  19. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Well as soon as the first milestones will have their OTA update, the package will be traced, exctracted and published to several forums ;)

    but there wont be an opportunity to install via computer!
  20. DAGr8
    Offline

    DAGr8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    you have to explain that to me rintintiger , why would I not be able to put the rom in my sdcard from my pc or to flash it via rsdlite or any other options known to work on previous motorola/android phones ?
Search tags for this page

ota update for motorola milestone