Is anyone teying to root Droid 3?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by lzy0702, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. lzy0702
    Offline

    lzy0702 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I couldn't find anything useful about it.
    It is said that Photon 4G has been rooted.
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  2. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The "phaton 4g" is not the D3--rooting one phone does not necessarily lead directly to rooting the next. I'm not sure where you are looking for information concerning rooting the D3, there are threads all over the place. Perhaps you are asking the question with the expectation that root had been achieved and so are looking past all the posts shamelessly begging for root and the threads that say its close. Your expectation is however unfounded and the fact that you have not found a thread on how to root the D3 does indeed mean it hasn't been rooted.
     
  3. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +15
    Come one be a little nicer. Lol...But to answer his question, NO! There are devs like Woody that are hard at work trying to root this bad boy.

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
     
  4. lzy0702
    Offline

    lzy0702 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I said that because Photon start to sell later than Droid 3, but ...
     
  5. pyro6128
    Offline

    pyro6128 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,517
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +8
    The photon is a different phone though, so its irrelevant whether or not it has been rooted. But yea, if you head on over to xda there is a large thread going on where they are trying different methods non stop to try and root this bad boy. The problem is there isnt anything to report since all of the methods keep failing, which is why its all kept in a single thread. I can see how it would be easy to miss though
     
  6. imnotmikal
    Offline

    imnotmikal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nope, of course not. Why would someone do a silly thing like that?
     
  7. 666ogre666
    Offline

    666ogre666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1
    The photon is very similar in hardware so its not too crazy too think one might lead to the other.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  8. CLShade
    Offline

    CLShade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^^

    Except that it kinda is crazy to think that. At least with the way Android is. :shrug: Its one of the most aggravating things about Android for me.

    From a ~reasonable~ person's point of view it shouldn't be that hard. If you can root one device you should be able to root another with the same OS. But Android devices are each ~way~ more unique under the hood than is reasonable. As it turns out the D3 was purposefully made very difficult to root. The same hardware delivered to a different carrier might have an unlocked bootloader and, therefore, rooted in short order.

    To answer the question: as has been stated already there are people working on rooting it but they are having no luck. Moto has stated that it will release an update that unlocks the bootloader later this year. That would make things MUCH easier... but it isn't certain to happen. If root is a priority for you and the existing hacks don't serve all your needs... you might want to pass on the D3 for now.
     
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    There are many people working on this.

    An SBF (chinese) was released and was not helpful in rooting this either. If you want to read more about it, there is an extensive thread on XDA regarding people trying different things.

    Again, this will take time with a locked and signed bootloader. Unless Moto comes around, it could be a while.
     
  10. javipoo
    Offline

    javipoo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's up with the moto-promise of unlocking the bootloader?
    They have a good track record of promises, after all, the XOOM did get 4g as promised.
     
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,141
    Likes Received:
    208
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +213
    The issue is that is its up to the carriers in the end. And they stated as much in their statement on unlocking bootloaders. "Where carriers permit" or something to that effect was the last line on it.

    end of line...
     
  12. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Software aside, the hardware between the photon and the D3 are very very different. Actually, I can't think of any one thing that is the same between them. Besides maybe being able to say they're both dual core and made by motorola.
     
  13. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +82
    Agreed. They both run Motorola Applications Platforms UI (or something like that?), but that's the software.. hardware is quite different.