1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Will Rooting of the Photon help with Bionic upon release?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by Xerrus, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. Xerrus
    Offline

    Xerrus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Saw that the good folks over at XDA have pulled off root on the Photon.

    http://m.androidcentral.com/motorol...mpaign=Feed: androidcentral (Android Central)

    I hear everyone saying how similar the Bionic will be to the Photon, thus does that mean root will be easy to make happen upon the Bionic's release since the Photon has been cracked? Not sure whas os version the Photon is rocking, if they differ I'm sure that will cause the exploit to be null.

    Thoughts?

    sent from my Droid Charge
  2. saintlikesniper
    Offline

    saintlikesniper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I would more or less look to the atrix for the bionics root. But as of right now Im looking for the droid.3 root

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    I was thinking the same thing earlier today. What a weird way to obtain root though. Requires a some extra hardware. It it comes to something like this with the bionic maybe I could buy the dock and then return it. Hopefully a better way will evolve from this and will help the bionic out.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. Xerrus
    Offline

    Xerrus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've no doubts this method will only lead to more techniques. But early adopters who crave getting their root on will do whatever it takes!

    sent from my Droid Charge
  5. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you actually need the dock or just the cable to plug it in to the tv & put it into webtop via the application on the phone.

    Not having ever seen or read how the webtop application works just a thought.
  6. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    I don't know much about it either the creator of the process claims that need you need the $100 dock which is supposed to come with a cable http://shop.sprint.com/mysprint/sho.../accessory_detail.jsp?accessorySkuId=57600043 and you actually need connection to a tv or monitor with hdmi connection.