1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

In search of a ROM

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by golfer393, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I'm running rooted 4.0.4 ICS. I'm sick of dealing with battery drain when I'm in a 4G fringe area. When VZW updated to 4.0.4 they eliminated the ability to switch my Bionic to 3G. I realize that I can do it now using LTE on/off but if I reboot my phone, it changed back to 4G. Question... What ROM works the best and gives the ability to set my phone to 3G and forget about it?
  2. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Let me ask this another way... Is there a ROM that will give me better overall performance than rooted 4.0.4? Thanks!
  3. bechristian
    Offline

    bechristian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LTE on/off app
  4. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I'm guessing that since nobody has responded there isn't a ROM that works better than the stock 4.0.4?
  5. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Blurry maxx 4.1
  6. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I absolutely love eclipse 1.3.

    The lte on off app indeed will allow you to choose cdma only, whether you are stock rom or not.
    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
  7. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    In love with stripped Icarus. Blurry has alot of bugs right now so im staying away from that for a while.
  8. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks for the response. I'll check out stripped Icarus. With it do you gain access to change from 4G to 3G when in a fringe area?
  9. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ya man. I can give you the apk for that app. I can give ya everything you'll need.! Send me a pm
  10. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    I installed Icarus HD 1.7.4 via safe strap. It seems pretty nice. I like the camera and new droid m style flavor. I burned through my battery very quickly. I'm hoping that was due to installation of safe strap, the ROM, restoring sms, and a few programs with ti backup. I was a little disappointed to see the network type selection still inaccessible like 4.0.4 stock. I guess I'll try it a while and still use LTE on/off.
  11. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Should have installed stripped version. Better battery.
  12. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Flashing and then playing around definitely uses more battery than usual. Give it a few days to settle

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC
  13. DevilDogMP
    Offline

    DevilDogMP New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    3,776
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    And don't forget to calibrate!
  14. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    How do you calibrate?
  15. altspeed
    Offline

    altspeed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Lone Star Republic, North America, Terra
    Use your battery down to about 10%. Power your phone off and charge it in power off charge mode until about 20-30 mins after it hits 100% before you reboot it. That will reset the "full" and "empty" flags in the battery meter software. Do it about every month or six weeks.
  16. golfer393
    Offline

    golfer393 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Thanks, will do. I'm really liking this Icarus HD ROM. It seems very smooth and fast. The picture gallery is much better and I really like that I can swipe left from the home screen to get to settings.