1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Lock my Bionic to 3g

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by lesnic56, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. lesnic56
    Offline

    lesnic56 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ridgely, Tennessee
    Is there a app to keep my phone from 3g to 4g?
    I'm on the fringe of 4G service and it seems the battery drains faster when the phone keeps switching back and forth.

    Thankd
  2. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    Lte onoff its free in the store

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  3. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Lte on off app on market was made for thunderbolt but has worked on all my Motorola devices
  4. Raw Dodge
    Offline

    Raw Dodge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phone info is the app... After installing, open, hit device info, scroll down to the bottom, and select CDMA/GSM PRL AUTO
    that's 3g,when you want 4 G just go back to the one above it.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  5. tennvol
    Offline

    tennvol New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Keep in mind with phone info if you reboot the phone you'll need to use the app again to get to 3g
  6. Raw Dodge
    Offline

    Raw Dodge New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That isn't the case with my Razr, or S3.Once on 3g it stays until you go into the app and select lte/cdma again... I've kept my phone on 3g for weeks at a time.. Reboot and battery swaps daily don't affect my devices.

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
  7. tennvol
    Offline

    tennvol New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my case (using a Bionic) this is the case.
  8. masiv
    Offline

    masiv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast Michigan
    Have you seen a battery performance increase when locking to 3G?
  9. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    You will see battery improvements by locking to 3g, the spottier your lte coverage is the bigger the improvements will be.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  10. masiv
    Offline

    masiv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast Michigan
    I have strong coverage in my area. If I have consistent 4g signal, will turning off 4g really help much?
  11. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    It should help a considerable amount because 4glte requires its own seperate radio

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  12. deduct
    Offline

    deduct New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been sticking to 3g lately even though I have awesome 4 g coverage in my area. My battery has been reaping the benefits. I just turn on 4g if I need to download something.


    ForumRunner_20121120_185710.png
  13. Fulltime Traveler
    Offline

    Fulltime Traveler New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LTE OnOff Didn't Work For Me

    Since we were in a 3G area when the ICS update happened, I installed LTE OnOff and switched to 3G-only.

    Later, we traveled to a 4G area. I had a great deal of difficulty switching back to 4G. After running the app over and over, and repeatedly powering down the phone and pulling the battery, it FINALLY returned to LTE/CDMA/EvDo. I don't plan to use the app again. I'll let it continue to search for 4G service.

    For the last two weeks, we have been back in 3G-only areas again. I have noticed no difference in battery life from when we had the phone set to 3G-only.
Search tags for this page
droid bionic 3g code
,
droid bionic lock on 3g
,
droid bionic staying 3g
,
droid bionic to stay in 3g
,
how do i lock my droid 4 in 3g
,
how do i lock my droid m on 3g?
,

how do i lock my phone at 3g

,
how to lock motorola droid 4 into 3g
,
how to make driod bionic stay on 3g
,
how to set the droid bionic to stay in 3g
,

lock doid bionic to 3g

,
lock droid in 3g
,
lock note 2 into 3g
,
why does my droid incredible stay on 3g