HTC Rezound keeps on dropping the 4G

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by aleduc, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. aleduc
    Offline

    aleduc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My new HTC rezound keeps on dropping the 4G. For the past day or two, it's been at 1x steady (not even 3G!). 4G comes up briefly after I turn the Airplane mode on/off but only for a couple of minutes, then it's back to 1x. And the "Power Mode" is set to "High Performance". I know Verizon has been having coverage issues lately, but I am writing this on December 31st (Happy new Year!) and I am not aware of any covergage issues going on (I checked online). Since I got the phone, it would go back and fourth between 3G and 4G (which I perfectly understand since coverage is not the same everywhere). But now I have been stuck at 1x for two days, and I have been moving around (all within New York City). Of course the phone started getting stuck at 1x RIGHT AFTER my 14-day "trial period" was over. And I did not take any insurance. Does it mean that I am toasted and will have to keep the phone (even if it is defective)? Anybody else having this problem?
  2. Coupe
    Offline

    Coupe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indy
    Mine does that when I get near bigger buildings that obstruct line of sight, I think the radios could be weak? You may be past 14 days but you still have warranty so go ask vzw about it and report back for me.


    Also, what kind of cover do you have on it? I have a two piece snap over unit from eBay and I am curious if those could cause an issue.
  3. ShortRound45
    Offline

    ShortRound45 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verizon has been having network issues. I ended up restarting phone to get it to attach to 4G after 5 days of 1X.
  4. aleduc
    Offline

    aleduc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That worked for me also, thanks! I guess I did not try to do a restart because I had tried it in the past and it had not changed anything but I realize that was during the time Verixon was having on going coverage issues. But I do hope I am not going to have to do a restart all the time because that will be very annoying. I suffered for two years with a Palm Pixi that was dropping the data all the time and the only way to turn it back on was a restart. And that was with Verizon as well...coincidence?
  5. mikeinctown
    Offline

    mikeinctown New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Mine does that occasionally. Skips right past 3 g. I wind up doing a restart and it works fine after that.no idea why you have to restart but it works.

    Sent from my Rezound using Droid Forums.
  6. bvjens31
    Offline

    bvjens31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clive, Iowa
    Yeah my data connection has been HORRIBLE for the past week or 2 (and that's putting it gently). Nothing more annoying when I have to use the wifi tether for work and getting constantly kicked off of remote servers because 4g drops. Been forcing my phone to use 3g only and that has helped some but it still cuts out now and again. Verizon has admitted that there have been "3" 4g outages in December but that supposedly the 3g was unaffected. Well, I can say that's a load of crap, because my 3g cuts out too. Not sure if it's just my phone or if they are having issues in my area. I wouldn't care so much if they didn't charge an arm and a leg for the mobile hotspot. Charging that much for a service brings about a certain level of expectations, and VZW is falling terribly short. I really don't wanna trade my phone in for a new one, because it'll probably just happen again and then I have to spend all that time getting the phone back to the way I like it. Oh well, not much else we can do about it I guess. I just suggest using the LTEOnOff app for Thunderbolt, works just fine on the Rezound, to make it a snap changing to/from 4g/3g.
  7. Volkaru
    Offline

    Volkaru New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I am also having some data issues as of this posting, I made sure that after the black out I had gone back into ##778# and changed the modem setting Rev. A back to eHRPD, and then the *#*#4636#*#* setting back to CDMA + LTE/EvDo auto, as well as making sure my battery setting was at high performance and nothing in the network setting was changed (still was always on mobile network, and set to LTE/CDMA) But since the outage--In areas where I'd normally have perfect 4G all the way from the outskirts of Oregon City to Downtown Portland and Beaverton--I have had spotty 4G service, on the bus ride from downtown to Oregon City, I before this last outage had constant 4G service, now in areas I'll randomly drop down to 1X for a little while, then back up to 4G. If I stay in one spot for a while I'll get 4G again and keep it, but while moving around when I'd normally keep my 4G, I drop down to 1X.

    Until this outage I had no issues what-so-ever when it came to reception with this phone, I have also powered down my phone, and removed all the battery, SIM, and even SD card for a few minutes last night to make sure it was fully powered off and had time to sit and cool down. I have not seen any more complaints of nation-wide outages, and I haven't seen a documented issue in my area with the signal, but do you think the outage has possibly messed with something on my phone? Or is the network still having problems for some people? Or could it just be that they're doing maintenance on the towers around my area and I should wait a couple more days before I start smashing my mental panic button again? (This is my third Rezound, a refurb, has given me no issues in the two weeks I've had this one other than this. First phone had audio issues, was the new one, second was a refurb since it was past my 14 days when I decided to return the first, that one went into a bunch of weird bootloops that weren't related to network settings, and not even a factory reset helped.) So I'm hoping it's not a phone problem but that we're still having some network issues, any feedback is greatly appreciated.
  8. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Been having the same issues lately as well, but never noticed it till I installed a ROM. Wasn't sure if it was the ROM or not.

    For those also having issues, did you install ROM's or are you guys stock??
  9. Volkaru
    Offline

    Volkaru New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I'm stock, I'm waiting for a few more updates before I root and ROM.
  10. grayson russell
    Offline

    grayson russell New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Iam outside Charlotte n.c. signal dead solid perfect except for Verizon outage.
  11. bvjens31
    Offline

    bvjens31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clive, Iowa
    Full stock

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  12. grayson russell
    Offline

    grayson russell New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is stock. I have had 0 issues with this phone which amazes me. Also had a gnex. Got rid of it because of major signal issues.
  13. bvjens31
    Offline

    bvjens31 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Clive, Iowa
    I got my Rezound on release day and had very few data issues until about 3 weeks ago. Then the wheels came off. I will say that the past 2 nights have been quite solid. I'm sure it will gradually get better. Still might have a relapse now and then, but hopefully the worst is over

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  14. rasaun87
    Offline

    rasaun87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Its been a lot of issues the last month... the gnex came out at a bad time so everybody thought it was just the phone but in all actuality with all the activations around Christmas that's expected... don't worry we'll all be fine

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  15. JohnnyS101
    Offline

    JohnnyS101 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this will be help, but this is my experience. I got a DROID 3 when it came out in stores July 14th. I returned it after problems in December and got a replacement model. This replacement model works flawless compared to my first DROID 3 that had some problems, out of the box.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
Search tags for this page
4g lte problems on rezound
,
dropped my htc rezound and now am getting no service
,
how do i force data from phone to sd card on rezound
,
how do i turn on 4g on my htc rezound
,
how to reset htc rezound 4g
,

how to turn on 4g on htc rezound

,

htc rezound 4g connection problems

,
my htc rezound keeps going back to 3g
,
reset htc rezound 4g
,
rezound 4g dropping
,
rezound 4g reset
,
rezound dropping 4g