Here is something very interesting and serious

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Roms' started by micp1480, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. micp1480
    Offline

    micp1480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have thought about this, and I am hoping others have as well. I have come from the original Droid to Droid 2. On my original Droid it was much easier to add ROM's and Kernel's, but not as easy with the Droid 2 from which I can see. When I got myself into trouble with a ROM or Kernel on my original Droid, all I would do is just reboot the phone and hold down the power button and the X button, and I would go directly into ClockworkMod, and then do a restore. On my Droid 2, if my phone decides not to reboot into the main screen after installing a ROM or Kernel, I am not going to be able to get to the Droid 2 Bootstrap program that is my portal to the ClockworkMod Recovery. I see a major headache here. Can anyone shed some light here? Thanks.

    MICP1480
     
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,143
    Likes Received:
    209
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +214
    This is due to the locked bootloader. Know the risks and proceed accordingly is all we can say. It doesn't look like the bootloader will be cracked anytime soon, if ever so be careful.

    Sent from somewhere...
     
  3. devinhfox
    Offline

    devinhfox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    SBF is your friend

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  4. event121
    Offline

    event121 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    And also quite annoying for those who are trying to work around the bootloader for customization.
     
  5. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    However there SHOULD be a way in to cm recovery if you bootstrap recovery. My undrstanding is there is a script written in to the boot process where if you don't fully boot up it will force the phone in to cm recovery the next time it tries to boot normally. I have almost always been able to get in to cm from the phone being off, but it may take a few tries.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  6. ultima
    Offline

    ultima Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure, but are you talking about the battery pull?

    when you boot the phone up, @ the boot logo screen (the M) its a point where the screen dims. pull the battery at that point then reboot. u may have to try a couple times if u dont get it the 1st time
     
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that's one of the ways to do it. Or you can boot in to stock recovery and pull the battery and then boot back in to recovery and reboot, and it may or may not go in to cm recovery. Or you can pull the battery and while the phone is off plug it in to a wall charger and when the battery charging icon comes up pull the battery again and try to boot normally, according to koush's website all that really needs to happen for the script to insert itself is for the phone to fail to boot entirely.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  8. microsnook
    Offline

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree w/ the OP. But unfortunately there isnt much we can do.
     
  9. trook
    Offline

    trook Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Ratings:
    +0

    Trust me, after a few soft bricks, you will become a master at navigating stock and clockwork recovery, sbf, and everything else that goes along with hacking a droid 2. Its incovenient at times but you WILL know exactly what to do with any issue that arises with a little practice. I agree its a headache, but to me its better than stock.
     
  10. micp1480
    Offline

    micp1480 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pulling the battery out when the M dims, sent me into CM recovery. This is why it's important to join forums like this. Very nice important piece of information presented here.


    MICP1480
     
  11. kevyo
    Offline

    kevyo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I stumbled across this workaround the very first night I got the Droid 2 and rooted. I can't remember what I did, but I know that I'd deleted both cache and data, thinking the "Power + X" method would get me back to CW recovery (I came from the OGD).

    I got this sort of scaled down version of recovery where all I could do was delete data and cache and reboot. I could NOT install from a zip. I went to bed that night thinking all was lost, and I'd keep doing the "Power + X" method" after pulling the battery. At one point, I decided to see what would happen if I let it boot up past the "M" screen, and luckily for me, it booted to CW Recovery! I was then able to install a ROM I thankfully had on my SD card, and was able to get to a point where I could create a nandroid backup.

    So yes, I can confirm too, that pulling the battery and rebooting does get to CW Recovery.

     
  12. pkbest
    Offline

    pkbest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shoot.. only took me once and I remembered everything... I wasn't forgetting how to unbrick it again! lol..

    It does suck that its not like the D1. Unfortunately, no one is able to hack that stock boot loader.... YET. I have a feeling it will happen soon enough..
     
  13. jimberg
    Offline

    jimberg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is a nandroid backup the same as backing up rom via clockwork or rom manager? That's my last question before flashing squidly... thanks ppl.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing. Happy flashing!

    tappin and a talkin
     
  15. jimberg
    Offline

    jimberg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    california
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the quick answer. Helpful community here!

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App