HELP... Phone has devolved into a freakin paperweight

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by Beardface, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    It doesn't have massive reboot problems, but when it does reboot it happens about 2 or 3 times in the span of an hour. However, it is PLAGUED with data connection problems. Namely, it doesn't hold a data connection. Constantly drops 3G, will cycle between 3G, 1X, and no data when in full bar reception. The software update that is supposed to fix it is not showing as available when I try to grab it. In fact, it doesn't do anything when I try to grab it. The popup screen just closes with no further action from the phone. Called Customer Service online and went to a Verizon store and neither knew how to fix. In fact, neither had seen this problem before. Anyone know what to do?
     
  2. eddiemro

    eddiemro New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Demand a replacement!!
     
  3. LAKings_Dru

    LAKings_Dru New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the same problem. When I go to software update and status, the screen doesn't say anything about what software I'm running. When i push to check for available software, it tells me no service available. Went into a store yesterday and to my surprise they told me to restart my phone and pull the battery. I told them I did that, they called an associate over who had a thunderbolt and he said he has the same issues and showed me his phone. What a waste of time! Other than that I love this phone. Am running stock but am curious about rooting. Not sure how to do it, or where to read about it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  4. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    Oh, and before anyone asks... I've done the battery pull, I've done the factory reset (twice) and I've reset the crap out of the device. Nothing has worked.

    I'm so f'n fed up with this device. Its been one giant POS since the day I downloaded the May software update. Verizon broke my damn phone and they only way they are willing to fix it is to send me some other POS that someone else returned because it was defective. No dice. I'm not playing that game again after the experience I had 3 years ago. No sir.

    So I'm willing to listen to anyone try to help me through this. I'm done with this. I need it fixed ASAP and I need the damn update. This dropping signal **** has got to go.
     
  5. Schmidtythekid

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well regarding the whole refurbished phone thing, idk where you live, but i work for a store that is a retailer for verizon and we offer cell protection that sends new phones rather than previously broken ones. I know it's probably too late now, but for future reference it's called ProtectCell.

    Otherwise if it's less than a year old it should be under manufacturers warranty and you can get it replaced.
     
  6. smokey1336

    smokey1336 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a suggestion I had same problems with phone when I first got The phone But I have rooted and installed Bamf Sense 3.0 RC4 at first dialer has eaten the battery but after turning off flip phone, pocket mode and quiet phone on pick up and then turning off assisted dialing I am loving this phone now not a problem and battery life is Awsome running ULV 1024 with sleep at 245 im getting up to 20+ hours on OE battery just a thought to help you out:)
     
  7. Technoman

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried loading the full RUU file? That is what I did since I had already loaded the leaked MR2, and I have had no issues at all.
     
  8. yakitori

    yakitori Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    DFW Texas
    Ratings:
    +10
    Root it

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    Considering how much of a complete f'ing disaster this phone is as stock, I think I might have to in order to use it as advertised.

    Pretty piss poor Quality Control from HTC's end when their flagship device on the biggest and fastest network is such a complete and utter Piece of Dogcrap. I'm sick of this crap.
     
  10. Technoman

    Technoman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0

    You could try the full RUU update file first if you wanted to keep from rooting. I am getting superb battery, no reboots, and data just like I always have with the full RUU update.
     
  11. Beardface

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +117
    Where is it and how do I apply it?

    I'm having MASSIVE problems right now. I did a factory reset, and because of the awful data connections, it is completely hanging itself in the market. I'm getting literally a hundred failed downloads because it can't keep a connection for more than 3 seconds at a time.
     
  12. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,131
    Likes Received:
    5,213
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,791
    It may not be your software or phone i had that happen a few days ago. Do ##778# code 000000 go to mode settings and switch to rev a. If after you reboot your phone is fine then there is fluctuations with LTE in your area. Even if you don't have lte fluctuations still mess with 3g on ehrpd, so go to rev a and see if that fixes you.

    sent from droidforums app