1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Have leaked ICS on rooted bionic. Cannot get OTA update to .246?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by tjrobinson, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. tjrobinson
    Offline

    tjrobinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I updated to the leaked ICS several months ago (using cheesecake.apk) and have system version 6.7.232.xt875, Android version 4.0.4, build number 6.7.2-223_dbn_m4-9. I used to get the message "check or updates not available" so I did a system reset. Now I get the message "your system is up to date". Has the OTA update just not reached CA yet or am I missing something else? Do I need to downgrade back to GB? I don't have a backup of the original system as the upgrade via cheesecake apparently didn't do that. Also, I have safeboot installed. I have tried using RDSlite, but for some reason it doesn't see my phone (and I have the most recent drivers installed).
  2. Crazebeats
    Offline

    Crazebeats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have to be on 905 to get the ota. You will either have to rsd to 905 or Google house of bionic and read instructions

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  3. dluke
    Offline

    dluke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you want the OTA you need to FXZ back to GB .905.. Or you can use HOB and just install .246 that way.. But either way you're gonna need your phone to be recognized through USB so make sure your using the factory cable that came with the phone and try a different USB port or different comp
  4. dluke
    Offline

    dluke New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha.. Sorry Craze, your post wasn't there when I started the reply.. You beat me to it
  5. livinginkaos
    Offline

    livinginkaos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    I am surprised that if you used cheesecake to get the update that you didn't know that you needed to be on the last official release in order to get the OTA......

    HoB with save data option is the best way, but be aware that unless you have a completely unique problem you will NOT get individual support. Sam has an extensive FAQ that covers everything that has come up thusfar and does not have the time to handhold. Read thoroughly before flashing.
    2 people like this.
  6. nateohio
    Offline

    nateohio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This surprises you Kaos? Doesn't surprise me one bit...yet another example of people just blindly flashing stuff without actually learning anything beforehand. Personally, when i first got into rooting/flashing roms/etc.. a couple of years ago...I made absolutely sure I knew how to recover before I worried about doing anything else.

    No wonder Sam gets so aggravated!
    3 people like this.
  7. livinginkaos
    Offline

    livinginkaos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    That's why I thought it important to mention the no support aspect. I see too many people just guiding the lost to HoB. It was never meant for that. I guess if for no other reason, cheesecake not working on ICS is good for this.
  8. tjrobinson
    Offline

    tjrobinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been playing around with it a bit and I can get RDS to see the phone when I connect it in BP SDF flash mode, but not AP fastboot. I then tried flashing the update I downloaded and it fails for not being able to switch to AP fastboot. I'm not sure I want to try the HoB method as it is pretty lengthy and appears to be a custom rom(?). I may be wrong there, but that is how it reads.
  9. jayrod
    Offline

    jayrod New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington NC
    Hahaha..The HoB is not a lengthy process...it's been coded to work very well with only the user following the on screen prompts. Take a look at the HoB thread and the FAQ thread. The HoB install comes with both of those . Just make sure you read what files you need and the "What if this happens" stuff prior to flashing so you will know what to expect.
  10. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Please for the love of God, do NOT use my product. I already don't like where that's headed. Find another solution.
    3 people like this.
  11. tjrobinson
    Offline

    tjrobinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Samuri, from what I've read I can tell you've put a lot of work into HoB and I have not read through all of the instructions yet. The main problem I'm trying to resolve is why RSDlite won't recognize my phone in fastboot. If your setup is the best way to go I will make sure to read through everything. I'm not a noobie at this as I've rooted this phone plus a droid 1 and installed custom roms. I have no problem with a lengthy process but I do want it to be simple and easy to follow. If I have to download a bunch of stuff to my phone, well, I've done that before too. It would just be simpler if I could get the fastboot mode to be recognized by RSD.
  12. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    First, I have indeed put a LOT of work into the HoB and the instructions. Second, it'd fix your phone in about 15 minutes with no data loss. Third, my FAQ explains all the reasons why a phone won't be recognized. Fourth, and this is the most important part...I ain't doing support. People can either figure out how the HoB works by reading or they can't. I put an enormous amount of time into creating the instructions and making it user friendly...I'm certainly not going to waste my time repeating all that information. RSD is not the only solution. The HoB has multiple ways of flashing. But all this is explained.
    3 people like this.
  13. dautley
    Online

    dautley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dickson, Tn.
    So here's the deal, I went to .246 using HoB, I have decided I really like it and want to go to the real .OTA .246, so I used RSD to flash .905 to get the update and now my phone doesn't work. Help! I'm not a noob, have not only rooted before but actually climbed a tree and ate real New York Cheesecake though not all at the same time. I have read the entire internet at least three times (though I still don't understand it) and that meany Sam guy won't answer my 62 PM's a hour!!
  14. Crazebeats
    Offline

    Crazebeats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wtf leaked 246, hob 246, and ota 246 are the same. You can not go back to 905 after 246... Wow can see Sams frustration since his job instructions tell you not to try and rsd to 905 after going to 235 or higher

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  15. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Actually I think that dautley is posting that with tongue in cheek.
    1 person likes this.
  16. livinginkaos
    Offline

    livinginkaos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    Take THAT Dautley ! Ha ha ha ...... Crazebeats obviously read it... points for him!
    1 person likes this.
  17. dautley
    Online

    dautley Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dickson, Tn.
    Yeah, I'm amazed! :D
  18. livinginkaos
    Offline

    livinginkaos Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Oregon
    Judging by the bandwidth used on downloading HoB, I can only imagine how many people actually used it ! With the numbers Sam was stating, there must have been quite a few people who actually read it/understood it or just got lucky......
  19. tjrobinson
    Offline

    tjrobinson New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it updated via rsdlite. After more searching i found the driver needed updating. Device manager showed it when it was in fastboot, but also showed a problem with it. Had windows update the driver and rsdlite recognized. Flashed it just a while ago and everything looks good.
  20. RETUSAFNCO
    Offline

    RETUSAFNCO New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well said!
Search tags for this page
246 bionic leak on rooted device
,
bionic .246 back to .905
,
bionic 6.7.232 6.7.246 keep data
,
bionic 6.7.232 update to 6.7.246
,
can you downgrade on 6.7.246.xt875.verizon.en.us
,
can you download ota 6.7.2 when rooted
,

does rooted droid bionic receive ota update?

,
factory bionic .246 rom
,
get back to ota updates droid bionic
,
get droid bionic back to 6.7.246
,
how to go back to ota update on droid bionic
,
how to install 6.7.246 on 6.7.232 bionic
,

ics rooted bionic

,
in order to get ota updates do you have to be on stock? droi
,
update from 6.7.232 to 6.7.246