1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Got yahoo free mail the hard way! Mods please place properly

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by romanrish, Dec 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got yahoo free mail the hard way! if IMAP setup didn't work!

    I am one of the many who tried to all the other walkthroughs to get yahoo mail set up and none of them worked. I finally found one that works. It involves changing your settings to Yahoo Asia. You have to use both computer and Droid for this. Here goes step by step. Walking back through this so if some info is missing list it and I will edit this post. Here goes step by step.

    1) login to Yahoo mail and go to your mailbox

    2) go to options>mail options (top right of your mailbox)

    3) go to account information (bottom of options on left and it will ask for your password)

    4) go down to account settings and click on "Set language, site, and time zone"

    5) go to the new setting tab under "preffered content" and select Yahoo! Asia click finished

    6) go back to your mail option screen and now go to the "POP & Forwarding" selection. !!side note!! I think someone got hung up here this is the mail options screen referred to in step 2)

    7) click on "Set up or edit POP & Forwarding"

    8) now make sure "Web and POP access" is selected and click on the pop settings

    That will show you what to enter into manual setup but I am going over it again anyway

    9) grab your droid and go the the email manual setup

    10) key in username and password

    11) go to the POP3 selection

    12) POP3 SERVER:pop.mail.yahoo.com
    use port: 995
    SECURITY TYPE: SSL
    CLICK NEXT

    13) NOW ON THIS SCREEN
    SMTP SERVER: smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    use port: 465
    security type: SSL
    Make sure require sign-in is checked
    verify username and password
    and click next.

    14) set your frequency and notification settings

    15) Name your Account and you are ready to go

    Follow step by step and this will work if none of the other ways have worked for you. It looks like a lot, but only takes about 5-10 mins.

    Anyone who this works for could thank me with a GOOGLE VOICE, and GOOGLE WAVE invites. My email is: havuseenmytiki@gmail.com any invites will be greatly appreciated!
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  2. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If this worked for you please reply, so I know.
  3. ldimick
    Offline

    ldimick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I sincerely hope this works. And if it does Yahoo should be ashamed of themselves. There is no reason that you should have to go through these steps to make it work.

    I hate yahoo. Their browser tool bars are a disaster and now this.
  4. xjman349
    Offline

    xjman349 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried this and it didnt work. Don't know what I missed but when I go to setting up the POP in my yahoo account it is no longer listed.
  5. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is no longer listed unless you change your account to Yahoo Asia. Which affects absolutely nothing except it shows on your mail homescreen. Please let me know which step it is you got hung up on. I have never done a walkthrough before, but with how much I had to go through I felt obligated to.
  6. eversonsc
    Offline

    eversonsc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    I had a bunch of yahoo email addresses too. I just switched them with the same name to gmail addresses and then forwarded my email to the gmail accounts. It was super easy and didn't have to go through all that stuff. Just an idea.
  7. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess i'm confused as to why Asia? Though if this works for some people. I will submit it to the FAQ for all to read! Waiting on some replys right now
  8. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the easiest way. You can also change your settings in GMAIL to allow responses from the mailbox recieved. So if you get one from

    johnx@yahoo.com and you use Gmail to reply. The recipient doesn't know it came from Gmail. It shows as if you responded from yahoo. Nice if you don't want the certain someone to have you Google information :icon_ banana:
  9. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
  10. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,929
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have wave invites...i'll take care of getting him one
  11. PowerPlayGraphix
    Offline

    PowerPlayGraphix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried all the imap walkthroughs, and none of them worked. I saw a reference to changing your Yahoo! to Yahoo Asia, but it didn't explain how to do it. That is why I created the walk through for this. I have seen all the other posts for IMAP, and how a lot of people still can't get it to work. That walkthrough is mentioned in numerous other threads too.
  13. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
  14. raven1911
    Offline

    raven1911 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am confused on this as I have two yahoo accts that work fine. Why would they work for me and others and not you?
  15. misaac
    Offline

    misaac New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Not working for me... getting the same error as before. Username or password incorrect.
  16. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because their can be multiple reasons. Primarily yahoo trying to avoid giving the free mobile email . Also some people have different versions of yahoo and some have granfathered seetings.
  17. MickeyG
    Offline

    MickeyG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    I know a number of people who have used imap method with no problem. Never worked for me. The only possible variable I have come up with is they have all had their yahoo accounts a loooong time -- like 1997 or so. Mine is much newer (2001).

    I have been using the yahoo asia pop connection successfully for over a month. Didn't post it here, though, because I didn't want to make it any easier for yahoo people to find it (and thus shut down). :)
  18. Nupe1911
    Offline

    Nupe1911 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THANK YOU SOOO MUCH!! i finally got my yahoo working with this method
  19. tbever
    Offline

    tbever New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine was working great using the IMAP method since I first got the Droid in early November. This past weekend it stopped working and starting giving the connection error message. I tried setting it up again, rebooting etc but no go. I went to the ASIA method as described above and it is working great.

    If this is all Yahoo blocking Google then this is supreme suckage. I have so much email on Yahoo it is more than just inconvenient to change everything over to Google GMail. BTW I have the Yahoo Plus $20.00/yr and it still screwed up.

    Thanks for the workaround. I will send a google voice invite!
  20. romanrish
    Offline

    romanrish New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any more success stories using this method? I want as much feedback as possible because if people are still having trouble I will begin trying to figure another workaround for people who couldn't get it to work this way.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
freemail.yahoo.com
,
kullan@yahoo.com
,

yahoofreemail