Got yahoo free mail the hard way! Mods please place properly

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by romanrish, Dec 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. romanrish

    romanrish Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got yahoo free mail the hard way! if IMAP setup didn't work!

    I am one of the many who tried to all the other walkthroughs to get yahoo mail set up and none of them worked. I finally found one that works. It involves changing your settings to Yahoo Asia. You have to use both computer and Droid for this. Here goes step by step. Walking back through this so if some info is missing list it and I will edit this post. Here goes step by step.

    1) login to Yahoo mail and go to your mailbox

    2) go to options>mail options (top right of your mailbox)

    3) go to account information (bottom of options on left and it will ask for your password)

    4) go down to account settings and click on "Set language, site, and time zone"

    5) go to the new setting tab under "preffered content" and select Yahoo! Asia click finished

    6) go back to your mail option screen and now go to the "POP & Forwarding" selection. !!side note!! I think someone got hung up here this is the mail options screen referred to in step 2)

    7) click on "Set up or edit POP & Forwarding"

    8) now make sure "Web and POP access" is selected and click on the pop settings

    That will show you what to enter into manual setup but I am going over it again anyway

    9) grab your droid and go the the email manual setup

    10) key in username and password

    11) go to the POP3 selection

    12) POP3 SERVER:pop.mail.yahoo.com
    use port: 995
    SECURITY TYPE: SSL
    CLICK NEXT

    13) NOW ON THIS SCREEN
    SMTP SERVER: smtp.mail.yahoo.com
    use port: 465
    security type: SSL
    Make sure require sign-in is checked
    verify username and password
    and click next.

    14) set your frequency and notification settings

    15) Name your Account and you are ready to go

    Follow step by step and this will work if none of the other ways have worked for you. It looks like a lot, but only takes about 5-10 mins.

    Anyone who this works for could thank me with a GOOGLE VOICE, and GOOGLE WAVE invites. My email is: havuseenmytiki@gmail.com any invites will be greatly appreciated!
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  2. romanrish

    romanrish Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +0
    If this worked for you please reply, so I know.
     
  3. ldimick

    ldimick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sincerely hope this works. And if it does Yahoo should be ashamed of themselves. There is no reason that you should have to go through these steps to make it work.

    I hate yahoo. Their browser tool bars are a disaster and now this.
     
  4. xjman349

    xjman349 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried this and it didnt work. Don't know what I missed but when I go to setting up the POP in my yahoo account it is no longer listed.
     
  5. romanrish

    romanrish Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is no longer listed unless you change your account to Yahoo Asia. Which affects absolutely nothing except it shows on your mail homescreen. Please let me know which step it is you got hung up on. I have never done a walkthrough before, but with how much I had to go through I felt obligated to.
     
  6. eversonsc

    eversonsc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a bunch of yahoo email addresses too. I just switched them with the same name to gmail addresses and then forwarded my email to the gmail accounts. It was super easy and didn't have to go through all that stuff. Just an idea.
     
  7. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess i'm confused as to why Asia? Though if this works for some people. I will submit it to the FAQ for all to read! Waiting on some replys right now
     
  8. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the easiest way. You can also change your settings in GMAIL to allow responses from the mailbox recieved. So if you get one from

    johnx@yahoo.com and you use Gmail to reply. The recipient doesn't know it came from Gmail. It shows as if you responded from yahoo. Nice if you don't want the certain someone to have you Google information :icon_ banana:
     
  9. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. mth04

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,927
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have wave invites...i'll take care of getting him one
     
  11. PowerPlayGraphix

    PowerPlayGraphix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. romanrish

    romanrish Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried all the imap walkthroughs, and none of them worked. I saw a reference to changing your Yahoo! to Yahoo Asia, but it didn't explain how to do it. That is why I created the walk through for this. I have seen all the other posts for IMAP, and how a lot of people still can't get it to work. That walkthrough is mentioned in numerous other threads too.
     
  13. Mojo

    Mojo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. raven1911

    raven1911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am confused on this as I have two yahoo accts that work fine. Why would they work for me and others and not you?
     
  15. misaac

    misaac Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not working for me... getting the same error as before. Username or password incorrect.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
freemail.yahoo.com
,
kullan@yahoo.com
,

yahoofreemail