1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

How to enable POP3 forwarding for a free yahoo Account so it works on your droid

Discussion in 'Droid FAQ' started by Mojo, Dec 18, 2009.

  1. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    A lot of people have been complaining on not being able to get Yahoo Mail working on their Droid's. So here is a work around for you.

    To enable the POP3 access for your free yahoo mail account, all you have to change is the preferred content, setting it to Asia.
    Step 1
    Select Options->Mail Options, then Account, followed by “Add or edit an account”.
    [​IMG]

    Image 1: Don't be afraid to click the "Add or edit an account" link. It will take you to the old Yahoo Mail interface, but this change is only temporary.

    Step 2
    Select, the Accounts link on the left of the windows that opens. From the window that opens, select “Account Information” on the left. Then, set: Preferred Content: Yahoo Asia, by clicking on the Edit link, like in this screenshot:
    [​IMG]


    Step 3
    Logout and login.

    Then, you can enable POP access and change settings, by clicking, from the mail inbox:

    Options -> Mail Options -> POP & Forwarding
    [​IMG]



    Step 4
    You can choose one of these two options:

    Use mail forwarding: Go to Yahoo Mail, in the select Options, Mail Options (from the upper right corner of the windows in the new Yahoo Mail interface). Then, go to the POP and Forwarding screen and activate forwarding, sending the mail to your GMail address.

    Use POP3: GMail features automatic mail fetching using POP3. Go to Settings, Accounts in Gmail.
    Then, from the zone called “Get mail from other accounts”, click on Add and enter the information provided in the following screenshot.

    You can apply a label to incoming mail and the other settings are already set your your convenience in the GMail interface.
    Using POP, your mail will be fetched hourly and this cannot be changed, so if you need fast response time, choose the forwarding solution.

    The POP3 has the advantage that you can move your existing emails in GMail so that you can benefit from labels, better search and the opther features of GMail. The choice is yours.

    You can also configure GMail so that you can send mails from GMail and appear that you are sending from your Yahoo address.
    To do this, you should click the Settings button, then Accounts (in the GMail interface).
    From the “Send mail as” zone, click “Add another email address you own” and follow the wizard. You will have to reply to an email sent to your yahoo address and that’s about it. You can switch from using Yahoo to Gmail completely using these tips. Enjoy!

    Source: Yahoo Mail free POP access Picobit

    *NOTE* If the above method does not work for you, and you have tried to do the manual set up in your email client with other directions found HERE
    Then your only other option will be bite the bullet and purchase a Yahoo Plus account. We can only do so many work arounds
    ============================================
    I Moved this thread to the FAQ section,
    I will leave it open for comment.
    Thank You
    JimMariner
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  2. pinesal
    Offline

    pinesal New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can also download the K9mail app and use that.
  3. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Updated thread with images, and better searchable title
  4. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  5. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    If you look at the other thread and my thread, my thread was started yesterday at 5:52 pm before the OP started their thread at 2:01am today. ;) Also I did link back to the origanal source that I got my information. As the OP did not. :icon_eek:
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  6. brianr0131
    Offline

    brianr0131 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    I tried this last month and it didn't work for me. Even after I switched to Yahoo Asia I did not have the option to enable Pop3.

    I think it may have something to do with how old your Yahoo account is. Mine is about a year or so old.
  7. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Did you make sure that you saved everything and logged out and back into your yahoo account? When I set mine up yesterday, I had a issue with Google telling me that I needed a Yahoo+ account. Then I went back into yahoo and saved it logged out and logged in and it worked fine.
  8. brianr0131
    Offline

    brianr0131 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    Yep... Yahoo Asia top left under that it says:

    General
    Signature
    Spam
    Filters
    Accounts
    Vacation Response
    ..........

    It just skips right over Pop3 and Forwarding.

    Oh well
  9. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Oh wow... did not realize it was not even showing Pop3 and Forwarding. Hmmm... that is interesting. It must have something to do with the age of the account. I have had my Yahoo for 3 years... Damn the man! That is why I am about to just close out my Yahoo account for good. Gmail is so much better anyways in my opinion.
  10. brianr0131
    Offline

    brianr0131 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cherry Hill, NJ
    I still have the Yahoo but I set up a vacation response listing my Gmail. I will hold onto it and use it for crappy things that I don't want to be bothered with, and I'll check it about every couple weeks. No biggie. But yea, Yahoo sucks.
  11. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Stickied this one!

    Thanks for your work!
  12. briankeith513
    Offline

    briankeith513 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    I have the exact same issue, but my yahoo account is over 5 years old.
  13. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A++ thread. This worked for me like a charm!
  14. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    Woo hoo thanks RinTin!
  15. Mojo
    Offline

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    S.W Missouri
    *bump* (by request of friend ;) )
  16. phantrik
    Offline

    phantrik New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Works for me...

    Thank you! I was using the IMAP setup all through November, it was a little buggy at best but it worked until last week. Then I tried this method today on my yahoo account that I had created back in 2001 and it worked. I did have problems initially when manually configuring in DROID but I waited about 5 minutes and it worked. Not sure if I was fat fingering it or what :D
  17. briankeith513
    Offline

    briankeith513 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    It works for me now! At first, I didn't see the options for pop3 and forwarding, then a I checked it about a week later, and now the options are there.

    Or you can click this link to take you directly to the pop3/forwarding options:
    http://popfwd.mail.yahoo.com/pf/PopFwd?.done=http://in.f951.mail.yahoo.com/ym/Options&rand=1255761663 . If it does not work, then replace the part after the “done=” with the server address from the url you see when you go to the Options screen from your own Yahoo Mail account
  18. Vitticeps
    Offline

    Vitticeps New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Worked without a problem for me, thanks!
  19. avluis
    Offline

    avluis New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Campbell, KY
    I can confirm that this worked for me just now, yay!
  20. repomanNWP
    Offline

    repomanNWP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    worked for me. thx
Search tags for this page
activate pop yahoo mail
,
enable pop forwarding yahoo mail
,
enable pop in yahoo mail
,
enable yahoo pop3
,
how to activate pop3 in yahoo
,
how to activate yahoo email on android
,
how to enable pop & forwarding in yahoo mail
,
how to enable pop and forwarding in yahoo mail
,

how to enable pop forwarding in yahoo mail

,
how to enable pop in yahoo
,

how to enable pop3 in new yahoo mail

,

how to enable pop3 in yahoo mail

,
how to enable yahoo pop for free
,
pop enabled yahoo mail
,
yahoo mail enable pop3