Google Maps 4.3 Fix for Droid Froyo Users

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by ChefGregg89, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. ChefGregg89
    Offline

    ChefGregg89 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Google Maps 4.3 Fix for Droid Froyo Users


    On 06.22.10, In Root (unlock), Tips, by Kellex

    [​IMG]
    See that screenie? That’s my JRummy Kangeraded Froyo Droid running the new Google Maps 4.3 which was released earlier today. Reader scrizzo just sent over a set of instructions I had yet to try that worked like butter. Seriously, I had tried the adb shell instructions out there, the .xml file update method, and couple of others with zero success. And then I received this magic…
    Instructions…
    *Note 1* – If you don’t have Terminal Emulator, download it from the market.
    1. Open Terminal Emulator and type in the follow commands:
    su
    mountsys
    rm system/app/Maps.apk
    cd system/bin
    sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
    unmountsys
    reboot
    2. After your phone reboots, open the market and download Google Maps.
    3. If it fails the first time, just cancel the download and try again.
    4. Done!
    If this set of instructions still doesn’t work for you, please drop the name and version of the ROM you have in the comments. Maybe we can pinpoint which methods are working for different ROMs.
    Questions?
    Cheers again scrizzo!
  2. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im using onix 1. 2. 5 and i get to mountsys and after pressing enter it says mountsys not found. Going to look into the ROM more. Will post back
  3. justreboot
    Offline

    justreboot New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central NJ-USA
    .: Nice - Flawless Victory :.

    Thanks!
    ---------
  4. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Running BB v.1 and I get the same thing.
  5. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Instead of using mountsys and unmountsys, use these:

    mount -o ro,remount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system


    mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system
  6. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like scripts are still being worked on i guess. Going to jump to my SS backup and see what it does. Brb
  7. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I typed the first one nothing was said, but then I went to the next step and got an error that maps.apk was read only.
  8. Samurai26
    Offline

    Samurai26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can officially say this method works on BBv.2.1 with NexTheme!!!!
  9. Samurai26
    Offline

    Samurai26 New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try these:

    mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    mount -0 ro,remount /dev/block/mtdblock4 /system

    I think Bayou just made a couple mistakes in his post
  10. zeppelinmad4
    Offline

    zeppelinmad4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville Beach, FL
    Just replace mountsys and unmountsys with those scripts. I'm getting "failure" right after "sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps"
  11. BlueSami
    Offline

    BlueSami New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Citrus Heights
    code is confusing sometimes. can you type it in a list!! lol

    thanx!
  12. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on the 2nd command, is that supposed to be a zero or was that a typo of an o, I saw the first is an o, and the 2nd is a zero.
  13. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Back on SS tried 1st set no go. About to try this new setup!

    Edit I get Maps.apk is read only file as well
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  14. zeppelinmad4
    Offline

    zeppelinmad4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville Beach, FL
    it's supposed to be -o. As in the letter.
  15. scrizzo
    Offline

    scrizzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    busybox rm system/app/Maps.apk
    cd system/bin
    sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
    cd ..
    cd ..
    mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
    sync
  16. kristoff125
    Offline

    kristoff125 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it worked. woo.
    now if only next time I can just hit update in the market and it works, I would be happy.
  17. scrizzo
    Offline

    scrizzo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same message but only because i forgot to put "apps". double check that you got everything in there.
  18. biggatomic
    Offline

    biggatomic New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nice.....................
  19. zeppelinmad4
    Offline

    zeppelinmad4 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville Beach, FL
    Definitely put put it all in there. I've tried about 8 times now. Oh well.
  20. todroid
    Offline

    todroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For Bugless users with Pete's scripts, you can use sysrw to mount and sysro to unmount.
    The fix worked like a charm here as well, BB Froyo 0.2.1 with NexTheme.
Search tags for this page
android 2.2 google maps apk
,
download google map cho androi 2.2 froyo
,
dwonload google map apk froyo
,

google maps .apk android 2.2

,
google maps 2.2.apk
,
google maps apk 2.2
,

google maps apk android 2.2

,
google maps download version for froyo
,
google maps froyo
,
google maps para froyo
,
googlemap froyo android apk
,
my location google maps android fryo