So, you say you can't get the Maps Update...

wricks

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
375
Reaction score
0
Location
Burlington, NC
I tried a number of times to get the latest Google Maps update (4.4) and failed each time. Then I went back to something that was posted here and on My Droid Life when people were having the same issue with updating to 4.3. It works like a charm - first time.....

Open terminal emulator and type the following. At the end of each line push enter.

su
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
busybox rm system/app/Maps.apk
cd system/bin
sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
cd ..
cd ..
mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
sync

That's it. The only thing I would add (just to be proper) would be to type:

exit

Then reboot, log in to maps and enjoy.
 

SlamminCam

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Okay, so I'm a little confused about this and maybe someone can help me out.

I have a rooted Droid with another Kernel on it and I can't get the update to Google Maps to install. I have Titanium Backup installed on my phone as well.

Now here is the crazy part! When I go to type the code list above I get to the part where you type busybox and it says that I don't have busybox installed. Now I might be mistaken but I believe that Titanium Backup installs busybox when you use it.

Now I might also be typing somethings wrong with the destination (if busybox is in another folder....if that is possible I'm not sure) But when i try to execute the line that has busybox in it, I don't get past that.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
 
OP
wricks

wricks

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
May 5, 2010
Messages
375
Reaction score
0
Location
Burlington, NC
Open T.Band press problem. That will install busybox. To check, open terminal emulator, type su, enter, then busybox enter. You should get a whole list of items.
 

RW-1

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
2,245
Reaction score
1
Location
Nazareth, PA
No, just omit the "busybox" part of the command... The RM command will work natively ...
 

SlamminCam

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Okay I'm going to try it without the busybox portion. But was is T.Band Press Problem?
Asking in case the other doesn't work.
 

SlamminCam

Member
Joined
Dec 26, 2009
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
I would like to thank RW-1. It worked without the Busybox.

su
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
rm system/app/Maps.apk
cd system/bin
sh pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps
cd ..
cd ..
mount -o ro,remount -t yaffs2 dev/block/mtdblock4 system
sync

Thanks again.
 
Top