Gmail account PW change..

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by mshams115, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Found 2 more possible solutions.

    1. Turn on wifi and try to log in. That change in network should fix it. If not...

    2. Go to settings/accounts and sync/choose your Google account/untick all boxes/then select sync now or sync all and an error should appear where you can sign in with the new password
  3. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Xer, I have tried on and off of wifi. There is no option for me to log in is the problem. If I could log out of the main gmail account and log back in all would be perfect in the world lol.

    Also did the untick sync boxes, included restarting phone after unticking them and every time no matter what I have done it does not give me the option to change anything as far as my login name or password. Same thing for Google Talk.

    The link you posted earlier was probably the very first link I found after this problem started and it was not much help either even when going to the password reset via the browser on my phone.. If I could just log out of the main account on my phone somehow and change the password to what it is now things would be great, or at least be able to change my gmail password to what it was before yesterday morning..

    Thanks again for your help!
  4. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Wow Mike, your thread is 3 pages. :p. But hey I was thinking with the D2/D3 firmware update coming, maybe a factory wipe is a blessing in disguise?

    -Matt
  5. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol yes Matt it is, and I truly appreciate everyone who has commented trying to help with this problem!!

    As much as I hate the thought of having to factory wipe, it is starting to look like that may be my only option.. I have been searching and reading forum posts all day and have yet to come across anything that is exactly like this..

    Mike
  6. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ya I'm not sure what else to do. Never seen this issue. I always get an authentication error when I change passwords. I click on it and update my password and all is good in the world. I don't know bud.
  7. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I just don't understand it myself.

    I appreciate your help Xer, and everyone else who commented.
    I will just keep messing around with it until I give in and wipe it.

    If I figure it out somehow I will for sure post what I did to correct the issue!

    Thanks again folks!
    Mike
  8. doogald
    Offline

    doogald Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Have you tried resetting the GMail password again (on a PC, of course)? Anytime that this has happened to me I have been prompted in the notification area to enter my Google account password - though, I must say, that was always with my old HTC phone. It hasn't happened on the D3 (I now use two-factor Google account authentication, which can be its own pain in the neck...)
  9. anthrpicdecadnce
    Offline

    anthrpicdecadnce New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heres a strange workaround, however, it may not work if you're not rooted. While i was theming my phone, i discovered i had to sign into gmail after i adb pushed the edited version of the framework-res.apk, i had to sign back into my master gmail account on my phone. So i'm willing to bet if you grabbed your framework and repushed it onto your device, it'll prompt you to sign in again. The one downside is if you have a fb account on your phone, it seems to permanently break it (until data wipe). But this may keep you from having to do a data wipe, especially if you dont have a fb account synced to your phone lol.

    At the same time, you could do a data wipe. Just make sure everything is backed up by google or titu. You'll just have to deal with setting some of the apps up, launcher, widget, etc.

    If you plan on going this route (assuming you have a pc),
    Google and download the android SDK
    Install it. It'll have you install the tools in a folder
    open command prompt
    navigate to the tools folder (the command cd changes directory to what you specify. Ex: cd desktop\android\d3 root will bring me there, granted it exists)
    Type 'adb'
    enter
    'Adb remount'
    enter
    'Adb pull /system/framework/framework-res.apk'
    enter
    'Adb push framework-res.apk /system/framework/framework-res.apk'
    enter
    'Adb reboot'

    Note: i've never actually installed and set up adb. So install for that may be wrong. What i use to get to abd is what came on my one click root i used to root my phone. When you extract the zip for that, adb.exe is in that folder. Navigate to it with command prompt and adb should work.
    Good luck. I'm not responsible for blah blah, you already know.
  10. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    I'm thinking way back when I had my D1, I locked the screen and forgot the swipe gesture because I just changed it. After several attempts it prompted for my Gmail password, forgot that too, lol. Changed it online, signed in with new password on phone and it worked miraculously.

    You could just try swiping the wrong gesture until it asks for a password then type it in?...

    Sent from:
    [ ] Droid 1 A855
    [ ] Droid 3 XT862
    [x] Xoom WiFi
    All rooted, of course.
  11. mikedyk43
    Offline

    mikedyk43 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Change your Gmail password back, done :). Sorry, I couldn't resist.
  12. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *UPDATE*

    We had a verizon outage in my area yesterday. Restarted my phone and up pops the login box for my main gmail acct. After restarting my phone at least twice a day since this first came up it had to be something with the outage here yesterday..

    Thanks for all the help!
  13. yoohoomeg
    Offline

    yoohoomeg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The easy fix that finally worked for me! :)

    Luckily, I stumbled across a way to quickly and easily change your account’s password on your phone.

    Simply go to the Android Market on your phone.
    You’ll get prompted to enter a password — enter the new password you created for your Google account online.
    After you’ve made the change, go back to your home screen
    Press your Menu button
    Go to Settings
    Go to Accounts and Sync
    Press the applicable Gmail account
    Press Sync Now at the bottom of the screen
    This should show that your sync is now working.DancingNexusDancingNexusDancingNexus:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
  14. FLE
    Offline

    FLE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Biloxi, MS
    I never thought of changing the PW this way, thanks for the Idea.dancedroid
Search tags for this page
android motorola photon change gmail password reset
,

change gmail password on droid bionic

,
change gmail password with android command prompt
,

droid pro change gmail password

,

gmail change pw

,

gmail passward recovery apk

,
gmail password recovery.apk
,
how to change bionic gmail password
,

how to change email password on motorola photon

,
how to change gmail pw?
,
how to change google password on bionic
,
p.w.change for 2 gmail accounts.can login