Gmail account PW change..

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by mshams115, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have searched and searched on the forum for the answer with no luck.


    This morning I had to change my main gmail account password. I did this on my computer online.

    Now my gmail on my D3 will not sync and Google Talk will not sign in.


    Anyone know how I can correct this issue?


    TIA
    Mike
  2. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Mike, I don't have my D3 in front of me -- but can't you go to settings/accounts and just delete the main account, then add it back? I know on the D1 the first/primary account cannot be deleted (factory reset only) but I thought on later devices you could. Have you tried that?

    -Matt
  3. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt, Yes I tried that and it says that the only way to delete it was to do the factory reset. Hoping I can stay away from that option if possible..
    I have also went to the applications and cleared the cache and history for all email/messenger apps...

    Insane to me that a simple password change would cause this kind of trouble.. I just hope I have missed something all day..
  4. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Mike, how far have you gone in the "removal" process? I just took a peek at my D3 and for the two accounts on the phone, I get a "remove account" option for both (primary and secondary accounts) and then a popup that tells me I'll lose all the usual stuff (texts, contacts, etc.). But that should restore (at least the contacts and email) after adding the account back. I didn't see a warning that factory reset was required, but admittedly I didn't go all the way through it!

    -Matt
  5. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Matt, once I get to the accounts area I can hit the Main account that I am having problems with and at the bottom it has the "Remove Account" option, I can hit it and the same message you receive pops up with another "Remove Account" or "Cancel" option with it. When I choose remove account that is when I get the message saying "This account is required by some applications. You can only remove it by resetting the phone to factory defaults (which deletes all your personal data). You do that in the Settings application, under Privacy."

    Mike
  6. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Damn, that was exactly what I hoped you wouldn't say! I can tell you that I've gotten password error messages from time to time, but it doesn't sound like that's happened yet.

    -Matt
  7. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Matt for your replies!

    Maybe someone will come along soon who has dealt with this.. If not I guess I will have to reset... sigh lol
  8. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Hmm try going to apps/settings/manage apps/all/talk/wipe data and then login again to talk
  9. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Xer, that was one of the first things I did once I started having this issue after changing my gmail password. Just to be safe I just did it again for talk and gmail.

    The thing that gets me is that I am NOT prompted to log in again, BOTH gmail and talk just go straight to logging in or trying to sync.

    If I could figure out how to manually change the password for gmail or talk I believe this issue would be resolved..

    Mike
  10. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Also wipe data for the market app. Wipe all three data again then it should prompt you to sign in.
  11. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No good with wiping all three Xer. No prompt for login with any of the gmail/google apps..
  12. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Hmm that's really weird. Normally when I change the password, I get an error for my email or talk and.it prompts me to sign in. Hmmm have you tried a reboot?
  13. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol yeah I have rebooted several times today. I have googled and searched forums and I am lost as to how to get the login prompt to come up..
  14. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    And you're wiping data right? Not just cache? Also force stop the app.
  15. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup, just went through them again. Force stopped, cleared cache then cleared data. Also included all google apps and services. Rebooted, still no luck so I went back and cleared data, force stopped and rebooted. Same result.

    I will keep going through with as many different ways to do it and maybe one will work. But so far I am still stuck.

    Thanks for your replies Droid-Xer!
  16. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Try unchecking the boxes in privacy settings? Backup and automatic restore... in addition to clear your Google apps data? Worth a shot.
  17. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just added that in pistacio and still have the same result... Thanks for the info!
  18. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Hmm this will drive me nuts. Get back on a PC and check your account settings. Maybe there's something in there? Or maybe log on to the web version of the market and see if you can sign in.
  19. mshams115
    Offline

    mshams115 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Xer, done and done. I did not see anything in the account settings that would have made any difference as far as the apps on my D3 logging in and I was able to log in and went so far as to download a free app from the web to my phone and it went through just fine.

    I am just really leaning toward maybe it being something to do with how the D3 is set up. I may be way off but there HAS to be some way that we can manually log out of then log back into the main gmail account for these droids.. I just do not see me being the only D3 owner that has had to change their password via the web and by doing so had this problem on their D3.. I have owned two D1s and a D2 for a short period and have had my D3 since about a week after they were released and have NEVER had this kind of problem come up.

    I have searched and searched every avenue I can think of and have not been able to find any post or topic that is as precise as this.

    Gah I just REALLY was hoping to get around having to FR, but it is starting to look like I may have to..

    Thanks again to all who replied!!

    Mike
  20. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Well I'm about to head to lala land. But I will look again tomorrow to see what I can find.
Search tags for this page
android motorola photon change gmail password reset
,

change gmail password on droid bionic

,
change gmail password with android command prompt
,

droid pro change gmail password

,

gmail change pw

,

gmail passward recovery apk

,
gmail password recovery.apk
,
how to change bionic gmail password
,

how to change email password on motorola photon

,
how to change gmail pw?
,
how to change google password on bionic
,
p.w.change for 2 gmail accounts.can login