Froyo issues

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by pc747, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Through all the excitement there are going to be some issues. This thread is to consolidate those issues.

    We will try to deal will all problem but keep in mind that this build is as new to us as it is you.

    If you are looking to go back to 2.1, the one sure way I know is to run rsdlite. There is another way but by non its too late. If you make a backup before flashing 2.2 then you could just restore wipe data/cache reboot.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    As problem threads pop up I will send them your way. If you see one pop up, report it and we will merge it to your thread.
  3. eliguy620
    Offline

    eliguy620 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My froyo has been restarting itsself about every hour....
    I tried UD and original leak, with orig kernal and OC 1.25....trying newst release now...
  4. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Try a diff kernel. Go 1ghz
  5. Rsswga
    Offline

    Rsswga New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bowdon, georgia
    how can i delete handcent messaging app? i have froyo

    thanks
  6. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    you can just uninstall it if that is what you meaning
  7. cpg716
    Offline

    cpg716 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone reboots about every hour or so also..... Even with newer Froyo... On regular kernel and OC.
  8. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Reboot into recovery wipe data/ cache and reboot
  9. cpg716
    Offline

    cpg716 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did 3 times each before I installed Froyo even.. still think I should bother?



  10. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So far the two things fixing the reboots are wiping cache/data or putting another kernel on the phone.

    Froyo Overclocked Kernels includes *wifi* fix
  11. dgonz
    Offline

    dgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    my handcent notifications no longer bypass the lockscreen. I set a PIN password thinking that's what it was but even when I took that off it just lights up the LED it doesn't vibrate or power on the screen. I checked all the appropriate options within handcent.
  12. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I am thinking it has to do with something with your setting. You can go into setting, apps, manage apps, find handcent and wipe data and cache. Problem with that is you will have to redo your settings
  13. dgonz
    Offline

    dgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    okay I'll give that a shot. When I flashed froyo i just restored handcent from a backup. Will that erase all my messages?
  14. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You will lose your messages and if you had custom notifications for diff people you will have to redo that.
  15. Shelooga
    Offline

    Shelooga New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    i keep seeing screen shots that list the build number as frf57. mine says frfxx, and i know have the second beta of 2.2. and if anyone wants to laugh at my idiocy, when i reflashed 2.2 i was also doing some clean up on my sdcard and i had deleted all rom back ups but my stock backup file. so all my settings are kaput. tough stuff
  16. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I have the newest one from the source with the newest baseband. It says frfxx
  17. dgonz
    Offline

    dgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Porterville, CA
    okay so I wiped data/cache and rebooted. My messages were still there =\ but all my settings were kaput. I tested it with and without the PIN code and it worked without it. That's too bad, I really like the PIN code, but it doesn't tell me at all that I have a message.
  18. icebluemale30
    Offline

    icebluemale30 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn,NY
    I Just Installed Fro-yo 2.2 on my Droid first i installed the Original fro-yo 2.2 with blue energy theme looked great ran great, then i saw the new fro-yo 2.2 so i said OK lets try it out so installed that then saw new kernels up to 1250MHz so i said wow this will be great so installed that turned on my droid ......back was so hot then froze on home screen and rebooted .... so i said maybe its the kernel so i installed the 1200 MHz still no change ......well to make a long story(too late already long) short i just did some installing and uninstalling don't go pass 1100MHz on the kernel or it freezes and you cant play videos play black just sharing my adventure today !
  19. pc747
    Online

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,178
    Likes Received:
    896
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Switch to a lower clock kernel. 1000 has been cool for me
  20. Shelooga
    Offline

    Shelooga New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    i cant install maps. it just wont happen. heck i lost every thing else on my phone and started from scratch with 2.2 and it just wont install. wth?