Droid X Will Not Upgrade to Android 2.2

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by heart7, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. heart7

    heart7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got a new Droid X about 5 weeks ago. And everytime I use the Check for Updates under "About Phone" I get a response that the "Update Is Currently Unavailable". Is Verizon only doing a limited number of upgrades a day? Its been 5 days since the upgrade was available. Any ideal when I willl be able to get the upgrade?dancedroid
     
  2. Rugerdog

    Rugerdog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is your current Android Version?
     
  3. heart7

    heart7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    2.1 update 1. I believe its the version that came installed on the phone
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    its pushed out in batches so not everyone gets it at the same time..
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    AFFIK they are not limiting the number of users updating, you should be able to check and upgrade at anytime... I would take it to a corp store.
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Somewhere in this forum there is something that you can do to force the update. I'm searching.
     
  7. heart7

    heart7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If its going out in batches any ideal how long it will take. Thought you could update anytime using update feature on phone.
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    i assumed it was in batches since thats what they did with the D1. maybe its different for the DX..
     
  9. mgico

    mgico New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update...

    Update is being "pushed" by Motorola in batches of 10,000, based on ESN. Could take one or two weeks to reach everybody. However, anyone should be able to "pull" the update, as long as you have 3G reception.
     
  10. Rugerdog

    Rugerdog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The weirdest thing I've heard was uninstall your Facebook account to make the install work. It's worth a try.
     
  11. Juicemane

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4
    Try a factory reset? Clear the cache? Battery Pull?

    Worth a shot
     
  12. sdjsdj1000

    sdjsdj1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem. Here's what fixed it..

    go to settings/data manager/data delivery/social applications

    Once there uncheck Sync over wiFi only.

    Worked for me.
     
  13. Rugerdog

    Rugerdog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. Juicemane

    Juicemane Bang Bang Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4
    ^ basically, a factory reset. that article is pure speculation. checking the box isnt what fixed it, doing the reset did lol.

    Unless I missed something in the article other then a user guessing that checking the box then restoring fixed it.

    And the fact that her recommends not using LauncherPro because it has "issues" is just iceing on the cake. LauncherPro works flawless for me and I assume most other users. Dont jump on bandwagons just because they're rolling.
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  15. Rugerdog

    Rugerdog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read it all - Bingo! I finally figured out how to get things straight in my Droid X 2.2 update - Android Forums

    Why don't you let the OP decide what works best for his situation. There's no need to get your panties in a bunch, you sound like a little girl... Lol.