Droid 2 Global processor

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by random190user44, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the D2G running the same processor as the original D2, just a little overclocked?

    If so, couldn't a firmware update up the clock speed of the original D2 to 1.2GHz?
     
  2. Captain Canuck

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    The D2G is running a faster processor then the D2. You could overclock it, but I think that would drain the battery faster.

    CC

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  3. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was hoping for some sources? How do you know its running a faster processor? Is it running the same processor as the D2, but its just overclocked?
     
  4. K20turbo

    K20turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hollyhood
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on the same boat is it a new processor or the same just oc'ed?
    If notice though the size of the d2g is thinner than the regulard d2. could this contribute to the phone having a differenc processor?
     
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I remember reading that it is the exact same processor, just overclocked :)
     
  6. brkshr

    brkshr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
    Almost positive they are two different processors. D2 & DX have same processor. D2G has it's own.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Processors are not the same. Droid 2 has 3620-1000 while Droid 2 Global has 3630-1200
    Droid 2 lacks the hardware encoder for mp4 video encoding. Droid 2 Global has it but interestingly, there is no 720p video recodring (like in Milestone 2 which sports 3630-1000)

    Source is pretty official - Motorola Developer site. Links follow:
    Droid 2
    Droid 2 Global
    Milestone 2
     
  8. brkshr

    brkshr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +1
  9. K20turbo

    K20turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hollyhood
    Ratings:
    +0
    nice find, think the milestone 2 has the 3630-1000 is underclocked verision of d2g processor?
     
  10. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I wouldn't call it underclocked or overclocked. Just like Intel for example makes 2.4GHz Core 2 Duo processor and a 2.66GHz Core 2 Duo - TI makes the different processors that power the phones in question. They are rated at the frequency they run by the manufacturer. Stock frequency. Not over/underclock
     
  11. K20turbo

    K20turbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Hollyhood
    Ratings:
    +0
    global supports hsdpa? does verizon even have that? think it will be faster for us when 4g comes out or will we need to purchase a 4g phone to utilize those ultra fast speeds?
     
  12. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It does. Even it is pretty fast. I use D2G on Rogers in Canada (HSPA+ network). Actual download speeds I have hit with the D2G in my area are close to 7Mbps. Much faster than Verizon's CDMA would ever be.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global cpu
,
droid 2 hardware decoder
,
milestone 2 hardware decoder
,

video decoder droid 2

,
what processor is in the droid 2 global