TI 3630- 1000 processor, how do you think they acheice the 1.2 rating?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by ikt, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. ikt

    ikt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like both the Droid X and D2G use the TI3630 processors, but the DG2 is rated at 1.2 gHz, the almost sole reason i bought it.

    Is it just the same processor, overclocked for the DG2?

    dancedroid
     
  2. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you really buy the D2 only because its got a 1.2ghz processor? Does it matter that much? My X is overclocked to 1.45ghz.
     
  3. ikt

    ikt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Largely. I liked the screen size of the X, but coming from an Evo, it was a bit old-hat. Liked the Fascinate screen. So I went with comparable screen, slightly smaller size, in exchange for a better processor. I do, occasionally, travel to Asia, but that wasn't a huge factor, and CDMA works fine there anyways.

    If it really is just a factory overclocked processor, than makes the decision really more about the screen size and form factor vs. speed.
     
  4. shagoyjo

    shagoyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Annapolis MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Factory overclock means factory warranty?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  5. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Processor name is TI-OMAP3630-1200. This means TI rated it at 1200. So chip is not the same just overclocked by Motorola. This also means it would be overclockable more than 3630-1000. Not that I feel there is any need of overclocking the D2G - it is blazing fast on me.
    When I push my old Milestone (Droid1) to 1200, phone gets quite hot after a short while of actively using it. No such thing with the D2G - stays cool to the touch even after 30 minute Angry Birds session :)
     
  6. shagoyjo

    shagoyjo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Annapolis MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yah. Some people have complained about heat but i haven't seen that yet.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  7. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Heat could be related to spotty CDMA coverage and radio struggling to keep up with the "shadows".
    I use mine on GSM/HSPA (from what I read you too (shagouyjo)). This could be a reason. Plus I got quite decent battery life yesterday - with low to moderate use - 13 hours before shutdown. I feel if on standby only it may top up 24 hours. Not that I am giving it a chance to sleep too much :) ;)
     
  8. ikt

    ikt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How? Are you domestic or international user?
     
  9. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am not in the States - I use mine in Canada on Rogers GSM/HSPA network.
     
Search tags for this page
how to overclock ti omap3
,

ti omap 3630 overclock

,
ti omap 3630 overclocking
,
ti omap 3630-1000
,
ti omap3630 - 1200
,
what processor does the droid x have