1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

For anyone who thinks their battery dies to fast....

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by satoru, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    [​IMG]

    I keep 3 charged while charging dead one so anytime I may be without a charger, I have extra battery, lol. Correct me if im wrong but is the d2g processor the same as d2 but set to 1.2ghz so if your battery life isn't great set it back to 1.0

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. Asphyx
    Offline

    Asphyx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Vegas - New York
    SetCPU will get rid of the need to have three batteries charged all the time.

    It lets you clock the proc down based on certain criteria and I can go a whole day (and then some) on a single battery.
  3. krpiper
    Offline

    krpiper New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Where do you get that charger? I'd like to get one
  4. kickasz23
    Offline

    kickasz23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should invest in extended bat.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  5. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    Since I flased I easily go 20+ hours before I have to charge when I ran stock it had around 14hrs. Im running fission 2.4.3 and chaged basic settings. I was playing fpse away from the house and my battery died. I got it all from a friend for free, the chargers serial number is SPN5564A just type it in google looks like they are about $12. I have never tried set cpu or anything like it.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  6. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I too have 3 batteries available (one from old Droid and one extra I had purchased with the old Droid). What I hate is the fact I have to reboot the phone to change the battery. I am glad I manage to make it thru the day in most cases without having to do battery swap.

    kickasz23's suggestion is the way to go (I am still struggling to find ext. battery with white cover available outside US for a reasonable price though).
  7. satoru
    Offline

    satoru New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    jupiter X.x
    I thought about the extended battery but I don't like the size. I can pretty much go all day with out having to charge unless im gaming. I like the extra battery option because I can keep one in the car. For any reason I may forget or not have time to charge my phone and I end up gone all day I have an extra with me.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  8. wakeskater17
    Offline

    wakeskater17 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have a few batteries too... found em for $4 on amazon, they turned out to be exactly the same as the stock battery and last just as long. i didnt think they would be very good for that price so i was very surprised. get around 12hrs of normal-high use per battery. can kill a battery in around 5hrs if i really make an effort to.
  9. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    The d2g has a different processor than the d2...it has an extra cpu slot, so setcpu and droidoverclock and milestone are all incompatible...when I used them, it added nothing but problems...but, im w the op, I have 4 batteries,one of which is extended, and a standalone charger, I got the extended batt and charger from gorilla gadgets, both for 40$...solid investment...I burn thro my regular batts n about 3 hours heavy use, and my extended in 10....but, I work 18 hours a day@ least 5 days n a row, so I always haveto have a spare battery...just in case..... ...but, as far as setting it back to 1ghz, it isn't possible...the custom module that is on the phone that comes out of the box, wont truely unload off of the phone to allow modification... ..I did recently read that droidoverclock has an experimental module that tailors to the xtra cpu slot n the globals...but, I havnt tried it out yet.... stock 1.2 w no bloat works fine for me...and since the governor scales up/down the frequency as needed/not needed, there's really no point to over/underclocking for me...but, again, I have a ton of batt's and no patience for apps making my phone glitchy
  10. destes37
    Offline

    destes37 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Youngstown, Ohio
    I have no problems underclocking my DG2 with Droid Overclock app.
  11. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I use milestone and setCPU for profiles and i dont have a problem either.
  12. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Y underclock tho and lose a slot of scaling down the processor, which skipping one couldn't be good for it over an extended amount of time, I would think neways... ...and y underclock your phone when the phones governor scales it down on its own and limiting its power supply when needed probly isn't the wizest move either...but, im a cautious guy I guess
  13. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    We don't loose the slot by underclocking with set cpu and/or set cpu.

    As for why underclock? Because whith the stock govenor the cpu can still reach 1200mhz with the screen off when it checks email for example. If you use set cpu to limit it to 300mhz when the screen is off it can't exceed 300 when checking email and such so it therefore saves battery.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
  14. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    How does it NOT skip a slot, when setcpu only accounts for 4...same w droidoverclock...when the global has 5....the math isn't adding up somewhere for me...
  15. Swirly
    Offline

    Swirly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    What are yall profiles for set cpu for the D2G??
  16. jojoferari
    Offline

    jojoferari New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No science to this at all, but I underclocked for a while with screen off and high temp profiles. I honestly believe my battery life improved after disabling set cpu and running without underclocking. I'm rooted w/ stock rom, bloatware frozen, and screen set to autobrightness. Take this for what it is worth...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  17. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    300Mhz with screen off. Thats it.
  18. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    @4x4, have u tried not having it(the 300) profile? If so, how much batt life did u gain? And does it have random hot spells, the battery that is, ..when I had a 300screen off profile, whenever my phone was charging at random(seemingly random I mean) times my battery got so damn hot I could fry an egg on the back, that's what initially made me ditch the oc'ing apps, every one would make my battery on fire more times than not, and since I ditched em I havnt had that problem. But, when I had that profile, it was along w others, but it was 100 priority, so I don't think they were conflicting, but, who knows
  19. bamarammin87
    Offline

    bamarammin87 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My d1 gets 5 hours if I don't use it. Bout 3 if I text sporadically. Bout 45 minutes if I use the web bhrowser. Somethings seriously wrong.... go from full charge to flashing red 4 times a day with basic use...what a piece of crap.
  20. NiceGuysFinishLast
    Offline

    NiceGuysFinishLast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Either you have a retarded app, or your battery is shot.
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global battery dies fast

,
droid 2 power dies to fast
,
droid x2 loses power too fast
,
motorola droid 2 dies fast
,
motorola milestone battery dies
,
my battery for my droid 2 dies quickly
,
my s4 baterry dies fast
,
phone thinks battery is dead
,
what is making my droid razor battery die?
,
why does moterola milestone go dead quick
,
why does my droid x go dead so soon
,
why does my phone die fast
,
why does s4 battery go down so fast