Does Bionic's lack of RAM matter?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by WindedBison, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. droidhop

    droidhop New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it does matter?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. wicked

    wicked Administrator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,333
    Likes Received:
    1,552
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +1,754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 3 XL
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    [​IMG] Design your own phone like designing your own Nike shoe. Now that's a concept...

    I'll take some of that, and some of this... and all of those... and put it in one phone, and name it whatever you want. :D
     
  3. pudah

    pudah Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    West Allis, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    For sure theyre making it so no phone has everything. They want you to buy new phones every year.
     
  4. jaycemiskel

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think I read somewhere that the Atrix also has DDR2. I don't think the Bionic is going to get webtop. They said all phones after Q2 and the Bionic is supposed to be released before then so my guess is with only 512mb it'll never see webtop.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. Preach2k

    Preach2k DF News Team Reporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    1,899
    Trophy Points:
    1,363
    Location:
    Hometown Brooklyn, NY Now Fuquay Varina, NC
    Ratings:
    +1,941
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel XL/Galaxy Note 8
    Twitter:
    DroidNCState
    They will give you just enough!!! If they made your perfect phone then you might not come back after 1 or 2 years to get another phone.
     
  6. SnydersWeb

    SnydersWeb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that and if we had it where we could go down the list and check every option we possibly wanted some of these devices would likely become prohibitively expensive.

    The other thing is right now the pace of mobile technology evolution has entered a period of explosive growth. I want things now in my next phone (Bionic) that were not conceived of at the time I bought my Droid 1 on release day.

    With the pace so fast, that's where it helps to be patient with your choices - getting the best you can, hanging onto it for a while, and then jumping to the next thing when it's a big enough upgrade all around rather than improving on just one or two things.
     
  7. redirwons535

    redirwons535 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  8. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,396
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Not in the least. The ONLY reason this came to light is because tbe Atrix has 1gig. People fail to realize that the Atrix is running a whole other OS ontop of Android so it needs it. The Bionic will be more than capable. Dual Core w/ DDR2 should make for one heck of a handset.

    Droid--->ether--->this thread
     
  9. trailblazen

    trailblazen Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1

    -------------
    and redirwons535, i wouldn't worry about the 512mb DDR2. It runs more efficiently and on less juice than the regular DDR that the TB and every other phone before the Bionic/Atrix so will out perform due to this fact.
     
  10. leakim13

    leakim13 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Agreed.... Once its rooted :)

    Living Free, hopefully not Dying.
     
  11. ericdabbs

    ericdabbs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think right now 512MB DDR2 RAM might be sufficient but I still think they should have made it 1GB. This will ensure this phone is update to date for the next 2 years.

    With 512MB RAM, this phone might be good for 1 year as apps begin to take more and more memory. I would have felt more comfortable if the bionic came with 768 MB RAM at least just like the thunderbolt.

    Despite the lack of RAM, I still plan to get the droid bionic since I like the rest of the features and the impressive battery and I want to switch to verizon (from sprint) before the unlimited data runs out.
     
  12. WindedBison

    WindedBison New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I'm starting to come to terms that while 512 MB of RAM isn't PERFECT, it should be more than sufficient for a smart phone. I mean, Xbox 360s only have 512 MB (GDDR3 granted) and they obviously have no problem playing games, streaming video, etc. If only Moto didn't give the Atrix the full gig, the Bionic's RAM would probably be a non-issue.
     
Search tags for this page
droid bionic boost ram
,
droid bionic increase memory
,
droid bionic increasing ram
,

droid bionic ram

,
droid bionic ram upgrade
,
how to incresse memory droid bionic
,
how to incresse ram on droid bionic
,
increase droid bionic ram
,
increase ram bionic
,
increase ram droid bionic