1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Why the bionic's 512 mb of ram still rocks.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by theidoctor, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. theidoctor
    Offline

    theidoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I'm no expert on this and thr closest thing I know about ram is more is better, unless your into gaming.

    Now I hear so many people, even notable blogs, complaining about the lack of ram on or, but isn't the ram going to be 512 ddr2, which is desktop/ laptop ram? The others are mobile ram spefically designed for smaller devices.

    Now i am not completely on moto's side, but i think they know enough to why they would only put 512 of ram on their high end phone while the droid x #2 comes out with more... and since we still havent unlocked the bootloader im guessing they have some guys that are pretty good at what they do.

    Ok so besides that, i am thinking that the reason their battery is larger is because the ddr2 ram uses more power???? I could be wrong.

    Does anyone have more ensight on this?

    Afterall my first computer i built had 512 of ddr, celeron d processor, with a geforce 4600 i think. And it ran windows xp pretty smoothly for the first few months.
  2. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    From what I know and read the RAM in the bionic is DDR2 the exact same in computers. DDR2 runs faster and more efficiently then the other types of RAM currently in phones. The battery isn't really larger because the ram uses more power it is mainly due to the fact I think motorola noticed 4G uses alot of power so they want you to be able to make it through the day unlike the TB. Also the Bionic screen is larger, thus using more power.
  3. xier
    Offline

    xier New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Moto are a bunch of cheap bastards and cheap bastards skimp on ram.
  4. Droid101
    Offline

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York State
    How? 512 of DDR2 is much better and faster than just regular 718mb or even 1GB of plain RAM. Not sure how moto is cheap
  5. theidoctor
    Offline

    theidoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh. DDR2 even better. I will make the changes in the thread. Also, good call for screen and 4g using battery. I guess we will find out when they come.

    But still desktop ram in a phone is huge.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  6. illmatic636
    Offline

    illmatic636 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Coming from someone with a DX and Xoom. Walking contradiction.

    Agreed about the DDR ram Droid101, from what I read it will outperform most 1gig processors out there.
  7. xier
    Offline

    xier New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dx and three xooms to be accurate. Cheap bastards comment was somewhat toung and cheek. Atrix has the memory ... I don't see why moto did not do the same for the bionic other than as a cost savings. At this point I could care less about speed of said ram....just give me what the Atrix got.
  8. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DDR2 wouldn't run twice as fast as DDR, although it can get twice the data rates, it also has double the latency, kind of a tradeoff there... the one area that DDR2 will outshine the DDR RAM is in power consumption due to less voltage required = less battery usage necessary... So my thinking is that the TBolts 1 Gig of DDR will be a much faster than the Bionics 512 Meg of DDR2, but the Bionics battery will in all likelihood last quite a huge bit longer... jmho ... this is all just my interpretation
  9. illmatic636
    Offline

    illmatic636 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    hahaha. True. But the Attrix has 512 reserved for the laptop dock, so basically the same as Bionic.
  10. Bxrider117
    Offline

    Bxrider117 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Back in NYC 4 good!!!
    I am sure the phone is going to be great, but would you be willing to pay $249 or $299 for it? I am sure that it will not cost less than the Thunderbolt, but jusdging from Moto's pricing on the Xoom, I can bet they are going to charge more.
  11. joeybarclay
    Offline

    joeybarclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didn't moto say that they were going to put the laptop thing in the bionic too?
  12. theidoctor
    Offline

    theidoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So thunderbolt uses ddr ram? I guess i havent been reading up on these phones as much.

    Ok.

    Thanks for the replies guys

    Btw. It would be nice for it to be a little more than 512 but no complaints here. Im sure the community here will be able to speed things up with the roms wink wink

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  13. BeerManMike
    Offline

    BeerManMike New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Something about it coming to all smart phones that are released after June? but don't quote me on that, it's assumed and most likely it will come to the Bionic. And who says it's going to be the exact dock the Atrix uses, couldn't the dock have 512mb or even 1gb of DDR2 build into the dock that the Bionic uses when docked?
  14. steazy26
    Offline

    steazy26 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But, AT&T priced the Atrix at $150 unless I'm mistaken...if that is true, don't you think Motorola wouldn't want Verizon to price it higher than the Tbolt to stay competitive especially if they didn't price their only other 4G phone that's essentially the same as the Droid Bionic. I think it's unlikely they'll price a phone the same as the Xoom...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  15. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All smartphones use LPDDR, Low Power ddr which is smaller sized and more like old SDRAM than conventional DDR.

    This isnt the ddr2 you find in a computer, it is called (believe it or not) LP DDR2. It offers similar functionality, it works slightly different, and like comparing ddr to ddr2, it uses less power than its predecessor. The guy talking about latency is correct, but the latency is higher so that commands and access dont get muddled from the faster speed. Its not a bad thing.
  16. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, the higher latency isn't a bad thing to accomodate the higher rates, but the speculations that DDR2 is twice as fast as DDR is misguided .... the only true actual benefit I can see is basically less voltage required
  17. theidoctor
    Offline

    theidoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oooook. I thought the architecture of the ram is different. I know ddr2 isnt double ram or twice as fast, but i didnt know about the LP ddr...

    Alright, well the ram on the bionic isnt seeming as great as it sounded before lol.

    Its too bad someone cant just come out with that superphone that just stays up to par with what we want.


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  18. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, for the Bionics dualcore processor, they should've put in 1 Gig of DDR2 RAM..... to avoid the bottleneck that would likely happen on the Bionic as stands now
  19. tgyberg
    Offline

    tgyberg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774
    Likes Received:
    213
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    What they should have done was put the 512mb in and said it was a gig! That phone will be super fast and no one would ever think twice about it! From what I've read, nothing out right now (OS, apps etc) can push a phone's ram to use the whole 512mb for any length of time anyway.
  20. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well..... as things evolve in the next year or so, that may not be the case anymore.....
Search tags for this page
does 4.3jb work fine on 512 mb ram
,

s3 xier

,
type of ram ddr in droid maxx