Do You Need a Data Plan?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by wuzuprad, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. ryanmc

    ryanmc New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Prepaid plans?

    Has anyone checked into prepaid plans? Can I use the Droid Incredible with a prepaid plan and then avoid the data fees?

    My wife has a simple phone and we actually had Verizon block all data and text so she does not get accidental charges. I would like to do the same with the Droid.
     
  2. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm sure you would. However, if you use a Droid you are obligated to have a data plan. Welcome to the "smart" phone world.
     
  3. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    If you block all data and text then why in heavens name do you want an Incredible? It's just another phone without that.
     
  4. ryanmc

    ryanmc New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Games, Movies, Music, GPS, Calendar and other organization tools, book reading, need I go on? The Droid is more than just a phone with data, and data does not have to come through Verizon (WiFi).

    I know I could get an iPod Touch (which I never will because of Apples DRM crap) but why have two devices when I can get it all in one?

    I currently have a Dell Axim. Getting the Droid without Data would be like adding a phone to my Axim, that is a bonus to me.
     
    #88 ryanmc, May 19, 2010
    Last edited: May 19, 2010
  5. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    But why get a smartphone then?.........Just get a regular cell phone. The Samsung u740 has a decent keyboard. Unless for the size and screen on the Droid....I dont know what to tell you....
     
  6. ryanmc

    ryanmc New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You probably missed my last reply. It is right above your comment and it explains everything.
     
  7. verakot

    verakot Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  8. ryanmc

    ryanmc New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  9. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
     
  10. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Funny, cuz u missed my reply also....
     
  11. Explosivpotato

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You guys realize that you NEED data for gps... right? Navigation too. All the maps and directions are on google's servers. Not your phone.

    Also, as soon as you turn the phone on in an area without wifi, and even if you are in a wifi area its not connected immediately, you are using data. From the instant the phone turns on to the instant you turn it off (or turn on airplane mode) you are using data, period.

    100% of android's functionality, save perhaps the calculator, is dependant on data. OTA updates? Data. Maps? Data. Contacts? More data. Apps? Data data data. I sometimes use a hundred MB overnight (12 hours) without touching the phone.

    So once and for all, even if you could get verizon to activate the phone without data (they won't do this), you would instantly be charged hundreds of dollars of overages. Even if you just put the phone to sleep without making sure wifi stays on just once, you're instantly going to wish you had a data plan.

    Please, stop asking this question... its ridiculous.

    Sorry if I offended anyone here, that wasn't my intention.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  12. HolyGrail

    HolyGrail Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, I'm a little confused. Didn't the OP say he wanted the Droid to work like a Ipod touch? If so, yes, you can do this, and you don't need a data plan. Can't make phone calls, but can still access the market place, GPS will work, ergo Wifi.
     
    #96 HolyGrail, May 19, 2010
    Last edited: May 19, 2010
Search tags for this page
can you have droid without data plan
,

can you use a droid without a data plan

,
can you use lg ally without data plan
,
do droids require a data plan
,
do you have to have a data plan with a droid verizon
,
do you have to have a data plan with the droid
,
do you need a data plan for a droid phone
,
does the droid incredible need a data plan
,
does the droid require a data plan
,
does the droid x require a data plan