Do I need a Data plan for GPS

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by RacecarBMW, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I want to use the app Layer ( Augmented Reality Browser: Layar ) which uses my GPS do I need a data plan?
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't get any smartphones without a data plan.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    somehow I do but thats not what I am asking

    Im asking if I GPS needs a Data plan
     
  4. modette

    modette Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^^ Not true, he could be willing to shell out the $$$$ to buy one outright.

    Then the question is would Verizon let you activate it still without the data plan!!! Also one has to ask why you wanting the phone and no data plan???
     
  5. dwagner88

    dwagner88 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, layar uses data. Probably a lot of it.
     
  6. modette

    modette Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Monument, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I did not answer...

    No you do not need a data plan for GPS to work. Data is not sent through 3G it get GPS functionality. Just like Garmin does not need a plan. GPS is free for all to use, one of the few things that is free once you have a device.

    Edited to say: I used the GPS a few times with no towers around.
     
  7. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can certainly buy the Droid straight out, but as soon as you try to activate it (even if you do it online or on the phone), Verizon will tack on the $30 data plan to your bill.

    GPS needs the data plan to show the map, but not to find your location. Without data, you will see a blank map.
     
  8. RacecarBMW

    RacecarBMW Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    what about for the app that I showed above do I need a Data plan?
     
  9. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you need a data plan

    Smart phones are near useless without a data plan
     
    #9 iPirate, Apr 18, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2010
  10. LtKen

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
    You need some sort of data connection to download the maps, GPS only provides your Lat/Long, nothing else.
     
  11. silvere2

    silvere2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, if you have a droid, you need a data plan. If the apps are on the droid, you need a data plan to use them. If you want to write a note on the droid, you need a data plan, because having a droid requires a data plan. If there's anything you want to do that happens to be on the droid, you WILL need a data plan.

    Clear enough?
     
  12. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    on a similar subject, once we all upgrade and get the Droid 2, will we still be able to use our Droids on wifi at least? or will the phone be dead?
     
Search tags for this page
data plan for gps
,
do you need a data plan for gps
,
does gps use my data plan
,
does my gps on my verizon phone use data?
,
does navigation use data verizon
,
gps device need data plan?
,
gps that doesn't need data plan for verizon android
,
how does international data plan work for gps
,

is gps part of data plan

,
verizon gps without data plan