Disable OTA update notification in Apex v1

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by doomgazer, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. doomgazer
    Offline

    doomgazer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Well, unfortunately I started getting the notification that the .340 update is available and my phone keeps bugging me to install it. Problem is, I need to revert back to stock and I don't want to do that right now.

    I'm running Apex v1 and was wondering what apps I need to disable in order to prevent the update notification from constantly appearing. I've tried renaming otacerts.zip and Upgrader.apk with no success.
  2. chumunga
    Offline

    chumunga New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same here I'm on Droid with bugless beast v.05 I already went to system/etc/secuurity and rename the .zip file to .zip.Baker and I still get notified like a hundred times a day
  3. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure why you would want to wait (I'm sure you have your reasons), but the process was painless for me.

    - If you have Titanium Backup, do a backup of all your USER applications (not SYSTEM applications). If you don't have it, get it or something similar
    - SBF to stock 2.3.15.
    - Accept OTA
    - Root and install recovery
    - Install ApeX 1.3.1
    - Restore user apps from backup

    Whole process would be about two hours

    Then you'd be on ApeX 1.3.1 and marvelling at speed increases over 1.0 :)
  4. doomgazer
    Offline

    doomgazer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ND, USA
    I'm not worried about the process itself, however I use my phone for business so I can't just kill it for two hours and dink around whenever I want. I usually try to slate about 3 hours to get it done.

    I'd just like to disable the OTA nag screen for the time being.
  5. LTLFTCer
    Offline

    LTLFTCer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where sunshine is
    I actually reverted back to stock, downloaded the OTA and re-rooted. Still get OTA notification and says it fails.
  6. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check your system info and see if you are actually on the OTA or not. I'm not sure what sort of bugs can happen with the OTA, I got to .340 via a full .320 sbf, then the .340 system sbf for a completely fresh start.
  7. LTLFTCer
    Offline

    LTLFTCer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Where sunshine is

    Actually, that is on my wifes phone. I just picked up a replacement X yesterday with the 340 already on it from the factory. Rooted and installed Apex, still getting OTA notes, with a message saying it failed.
  8. doomgazer
    Offline

    doomgazer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ND, USA
    I just bit the bullet and upgraded. Problem solved.. at least until the next OTA.
  9. hyperlite
    Offline

    hyperlite New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone discovered an answer to this? My dads X is on .15, stock, rooted, but the update fails even after a 2.3.15 SBF, so we're taking his phone in...but in the mean time, a way to disable the notifications would be great.

    On another note, i've NEVER heard of an OTA just "failing." After telling it to install, the phone reboots into the andy+box screen and the bar gets about 1/4 of the way over and the box changes to the ! and reboots. I'm rather puzzled about this.
  10. tpullins
    Offline

    tpullins New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you have to flash back to SBF before accepting the OTA?
  11. doomgazer
    Offline

    doomgazer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Actually I had a nandroid of stock so I just did a restore.